Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

A Week in Winter
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 4 December 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2017
well pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2015
I didn't want to put it down, as good as always with real people you could meet anywhere. Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2017
Still reading it - enjoying what am reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2017
An excerllant read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2015
Enjoyed it very much. Loved it I am going to read it again as it was so good. As usual
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2012
A beautifully written book as always, one I just cannot put down. She always re-introduces characters from previous books, which makes me want to read them again.
Maeve will be sorely missed. I always looked forward to her new book in the autumn. Have shed tears at her loss.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2014
Written with the humor and understanding that are trademarks of her writing, Maeve Binchy's final tome A WEEK IN WINTER takes the reader to the west coast of Ireland where a woman named Chicky Starr has returned to her hometown of Stoneybridge and begins to restore an old, decaying mansion and turn it into an inn where folks can come to escape the problems and hustle-bustle of their everyday lives. Once again she has populated her story with a large cast of often endearing, sometimes quirky and always beautifully developed characters that are a joy to get to know. The inn, Stone House, serves as the meeting place for this diverse group of players and even minor characters are an important part of these inter-related stories. Doctors, a psychic, a frustrated musician, a retired headmistress, a couple whose main occupation is entering and winning contests, and of course the bad boy with the heart of gold are just a few of the folks who populate the pages of this enchanting tale.

I have loved Maeve Binchy's books for years. Her gentle, charming tales illustrate the attitudes, ambitions and relationships of her characters while exploring the effects of contemporary and traditional Irish customs and lifestyles on the folks who inhabit and visit her windswept Emerald Isle. Reading her books gives one the warm, cozy feeling felt when visiting an old friend. So snuggle up with the warm beverage of your choice and settle in for A WEEK IN WINTER, another pleasant visit to the time-honored, vivid and definitely unforgettable Binchy style.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 December 2014
This is another one of those gentle, well written books by Maeve Binchy where the characterization is the key to the whole book.

Maeve Binchy's books have never included highly acclaimed, complex plots. They are gentle plots that amble along discussing day to day life. This book is no exception. This is the story of Chicky, growing up in rural Ireland in the 1960s. She meets an American, Walter, and suddenly her life is turned around as she heads off to America. Many years later (much happens on the way but I won't spoil that for you) she returns to Stoneybridge & creates a hotel. The week in winter is her opening week.

The first part of this book follows Chicky's story in both America & on her return to Ireland. The latter part follows the guests, one chapter at a time, who will be staying in the hotel for the opening week. We learn about what brings them there & how that week changes some of their lives.

The characters are the key to Maeve Binchy's writing. She creates the most wonderful, realistic characters with fantastic background stories. As a reader you really get under the skin of those characters & care very much about what happens to them. Not all of their stories have a happy ending but most do.

Within this story characters and from previous books make a fleeting visit. Someone will go for dinner at Quentins & someone else will have a chat with the Signora who teaches Italian. These are little touches which I feel add a little extra to this book.

I have enjoyed many of Maeve Binchy's books & short stories on previous occasions and this book was no exception.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2015
I've never read a Maeve Binchy book before and doubt I will again. This is a book with several stories - I couldn't call them plot lines - where ultimately the people featured in each story end up at the same hotel at the same time. The stories built up pictures of each character but then just left them dangling in the air. The ending was the most contrived I have ever read. It's as though the author got so bored with writing the book that she came up with this ridiculous ending just so she could type "The End". A terribly lazy way of trying to tell the reader what the future held for each character. Just ridiculous!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here