Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 8 September 2006
It was great to meet up with Myron again, although I wasn't sure if I liked all the changes - Jessica finally out of his life - - mum and dad packed off to Florida, but despite it all Myron is a great character who you really care about. It was interesting that the same policewoman in The Innocent was also in this - wonder if she is going to become a major character in other HC books. Let's hope it's not long before we meet Myron again (not sure I like the new girlfriend though)
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 4 July 2006
There are two sides to the Coben portfolio : one features Myron Bolitar, the other doesn't. This is my seventh novel by the great man and of course I'm here to pass on the message that everyone already knows, which is that if you want to read the best that Coben can offer, stick with Myron. Over the six year period since his last escapade, we have been presented with lead characters such as Will Klein in Gone for Good, Matt Hunter in The Innocent and Dr Marc Seidman in No Second Chance, but none have been so readable, durable and plain enjoyable as sports-agent-cum-amateur-sleuth Myron Bolitar.

Promise Me is, as usual, full of such highly colourful characters that it's almost like reading a comic. Myron himself is relatively normal, but you can't say the same about his friends, family and accomplices Win, Esperanza, Big Cyndi, Zorra and El-Al, nor some of the baddies conjured up such as the 'very bad hombres' known simply as The Twins. (If Win warns you they're bad, that means bad bad) The central theme of the story is parent-teenager relationships and how variously most of the characters in this book act them out. There's a fair slice of violence of course, which often tends to happen when Win's around, but there are also regular helpings of humour and romance. You could accuse Coben of trying to please all of the people all of the time with such an all-bases-covered approach, but he gets away with it. And it's true to say that he does keep you guessing until the last page.

Much as I enjoyed the story, and in particular the way it was told, I can't help but feel that it's somewhat forgettable. When I look at this title in a year or two I can imagine myself thinking "Great book, I really loved it" followed a moment later by "What was it about again?" Maybe it's just my weakening memory, but although I regard Darkest Fear (another Myron Bolitar outing) as a better read than Promise Me, I can't remember what it was about! Is this what they call popcorn writing? Whatever the answer, Harlan Coben has a deservedly huge fan club and the next time that Myron features, I'll place my order.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
In Promise Me, Harlan Coben returns to his recurring character Myron Bollitar for an eighth adventure. A considerable number of years have passed since the last novel, and it's interesting to see how Coben has changed the universe to make this clear. The narrative is also different - this is far more similar to some of Coben's more serious works than the light-hearted 'grown-up Hardy Boys' of the early Bollitar novels.

The themes of this book are similar to many of Coben's novels - focussing this time on a promise that Bollitar made to protect someone and whether he is able to deliver on this. It uses the character well in a serious way, building on several of the earlier plots to build the character in a new direction that fits well with the relaunch of the series.

The plot is strong and sufficiently complicated to make for an interesting mystery that Coben continues to spin out when you think things are wrapping up - unlike other authors, he makes the twists feel natural and they flow into one another rather than leaping into your face unexpectedly. I really enjoyed returning to the Bollitar world, and look forward to reading the later books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
Harlan Coben is a bonafide bestseller; his novels have sold in their hundreds of thousands, but this was not always the case. Newer Coben fans will know him for his standalone crime thrillers that usually surround a person thought to be dead, but who suddenly shows up. However, before these one off books, Coben had created the character of Myron Bolitar, a wise cracking sports agent/private investigator. The problem was that as Bolitar's stories became darker, the character's glib attitude to life just did not sit well; no one likes a joker around a dead child.

6 years since Bolitar's last novel, he is back and better than ever in `Promise Me'. This is a book that combines the great reoccurring character of Bolitar, but also the shadowy dark thrills that Cohen has become so good at. Bolitar is a little older now and a little wiser; no longer will he jump into a situation, but think things through and tries to avoid conflict if necessary. However, if something unpleasant needs to be done, he does not shy away this time, instead seeing it as a necessary evil. This type of evil may just be needed when an 18 year old girl goes missing.

This is the best Cohen book I have read yet. The standalone novels have been good, but the characters often left me cold. Therefore, integrating his best creation into a similar structure works perfectly. Harlan has matured Bolitar to a level that he now fits into this dark crime universe, but the character is also there with an offhand remark when it is required. By combining the best elements of both types of work he writes, Cohen has created something that is greater than the sum of its parts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2016
Quite a different spin on the usual Myron Bolitar books. The focus is on Myron's concern for his friends' 18 year old daughter, Aimee - he think he is doing good by offering the girl a lift anytime she needs it, worried about her travelling with drink-driving teens. Aimee takes up the offer late one night and Myron drops her off where directed. Aimee then goes missing - Myron comes under suspicion (naturally) and makes a vow to the girl's mother to find her. It looks like her disappearance may be linked to another 18 year old girl who has gone missing. Myron goes all out to find Aimee, with some timely help from WIn and uncovers a sordid web of wrong-doing at Aimee's school in the process. Moves at a good pace with the usual Bolitar wisecracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2007
Myron Bolitar, and breathed fresh life into the sports agent- turned-detective with this slick, fast paced thriller that is guaranteed to satisfy from the moment the novel is opened.
Everything that a Crime fiction reader could ever possibly want is within the pages of this book. The dialogue is Connelly-esque in its tightness and holds such a natural rhythm that the reader becomes a virtual eavesdropper. The descriptive prose has been so vividly drawn, it is as though we have been invited to come along for the ride and so can "see" where we are and what is about to transpire.

As for the characters, good and bad alike, well, it's like meeting with old friends - or running into old enemies - such are the feelings that are stirred. The theme of the novel is simple - as it usually is with the best of novels - and, here, is delivered and adhered to with such clear mindedness that when the denouement arrives, it is not so much as a surprise but more a physical shock to the system.

Harlan Coben has now written eight Myron Bolitar novels and this is as good a place to start as any if you've not read any of the others. The blanks in the back-story are filled in with out being heavy handed, whilst the peripheral characters have all been drawn with such attention to detail, the reader wants to know what they have been up to in the interceding six years as much as they do about Myron. This indeed is a welcome return of a well-defined hero and Harlan Coben can expect to roundly applauded from all quarters for doing so at long last!!! Also, if you missed reading Tino Georgiou's masterpiece--The Fates, go and read it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2007
My review is going to be completely different from others on here. I have read a few of Harlan Coben's books, and this one disappointed me slightly.
First off it took a few chapters for me to actually get into the storyline. This is unusual for me.
Secondly, i didnt find the story gripping enough compared to his other books that i have read. I have read a Harlan Coben book in a day before, i just couldn't put it down for the life of me. This book took me 4 days to read. I could basically work out what had happened, the only real twist and great thing about this author is that the ending was great. A real shock at the end. Other than that i found it rather 'bland'
This is the first 'Myron Bolitar' book, so im thinking maybe i should start with the first book when Myron is first introduced. Gosh im still going to continue reading books by the author, this was ok, his others are great!
SEE FOR YOURSELF, GIVE IT A GO
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 June 2008
Only read one other Harlen Coben before and enjoyed this one more than the first. The story focuses on Myron Bolitar, a man who feels the need to rescue people. A young girl Aimee Biel goes missing, presumed runaway, but Myron knows this is not true. He starts to try to find what happened to Aimee and finds out a lot more than he bargained for in the page turning thriller. Definately worth a read. Makes me want to read all the other stories featuring Myron Bolitar. Maybe has reaplaced Patricia Cornwell style in the fact that the character is great and you want to keep reading about him!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2007
Coben had given Myron Bolitar, Win, Esperanza and co a break and has focussed on 'one off' thrillers like 'Just One Look' and 'Tell No One'. But now Myron is back!

I have to say that 'Promise Me' was much more like one of his recent thrillers but with Myron as the central character - his MB SportsRep (now MB Reps as he represents actors as well) clients are no longer the key characters.

It was nonetheless, like all Coben books (Myron and non-Myron) very enjoyable. Certainly not his best but suspensful, witty and fast paced if a bit dubious plot wise. I like the way that HC develops his characters - Myron always comes out on top but not without self doubts, personal flaws, goofy smiles and the fact that he lived with his parents well into his 30s!

Coben's books are so easy to read - I finished this in two days - before seeing this I was (and still am) really struggling with Atlantis by David Gibbons.

I'm looking forward to the next book having read the one chapter teaser at the end of this. Its great to have Myron and co back!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse