Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2017
Another fabulous book by Harlan Coben. I have now finished the Myron Bolitar series and want more!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2016
Good story gripping stuff another winner. Would recommend this series of books to anyone. Looking forward to the next one
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
Another great read from Harlan Coben
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
God he is good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
As always another superb novel by Harlan Coben with many twists and turns
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
BOOK ARRIVED WITHIN DELIVERY TIMESCALES AND IN GOOD CONDITION. WELL PACKAGED.NO PROBLEMS WITH THE ITEM DESCRIPTION OR POSTAGE.WOULD USE THE SUPPLIER AGAIN.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After book nine disappointed me, I approached this tenth installment with a note of weariness. However, despite a few minor complaints, it looks like the series righted itself and is back on track.

When a tennis star Myron represented, begs him to locate her rock star husband who went off grid after a Facebook post insinuated he was not the father of their unborn child, the last thing Myron anticipated was running into his sister-in-law, Kitty.

Myron and his brother, Brad, had a huge falling out over Kitty, years ago, and the rift has never healed. Now, Kitty is back, with her son, Mickey, but without Brad, and apparently has fallen back into some old habits.

But, the question is: Where is Brad?

With Myron’s father in ill health, the race is on to find his brother and solve a murder, which will require all the help he can get from Win, Esperanza and Big Cindi.

Huge events take place in this installment, and I’m still trying to process it all. This chapter introduces us to Mikey Bolitar, who now has his own series, closes some doors, and leaves others open to interpretation.

Many believed this would be the last book in the series, but alas, a new installment has recently been released. By the way this one ended, with so many years in between releases, I am super curious about book eleven, and can’t wait to dive into it.

This novel is definitely a game changer for the series, so be prepared for a few gut punches and for those trademark twists, Coben is famous for.

Overall, this is a solid addition to the series and I’m grateful it did not end here.

4 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
Having read all HC's output, other than his recently released first two books, which were given poor reviews this looks like it could the end of the line for me.
This wasn't a bad book but was not one of his best and the story seemed to chronicle the end of Bolitar, Win et al.
HC created a terrific set of characters who integrated well so it will be a shame if this is the last we hear of Myron and his colleagues.
But maybe my assessment of their demise is a mistaken assumption.
The low key Chandler-like one-liners are always good value and in this book HC was on form.
However like it's the economy stupid saying if the story isn't strong enough you're always going to struggle to engage the reader.
This was just not a strong enough story and tried to mesh together too many extraneous threads which ended up in writing cul-de-sacs.
HC also spent a lot of time dwelling on family related challenges which, up to a point, chimed with the narrative but became somewhat self indulgent.
It also seemed to want to sweep up and finalise the Bolitar Series, Ache Brothers and all.
However he did allow Mickey Bolitar to emerge as a potential character who is now the central player in his latest book - Shelter.
To be honest Mickey seemed like a bit of a pain and reviews I've read bear this out.
However and in summary Live Wire us a good read with an interesting story.
The problem is HC has written much better books in this series so anything short if the mark is bound to disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
Harlen Coben has written some of my favourite thrillers, but this is far from the quality he can deliver. The book appears to be a vehicle to end the Myron Bolitar series and introduce his nephew. There are elements where the characters are developed but the plot is left to languish.

My biggest disappointment was the sense that Bolitar starts investigating a crime that barely seems to warrant his concern. From this he progresses through the story and the reader is left wondering why Bolitar is so motivated. When we finally discover the crime and a bit of a twist, it's too late and predictable. Perhaps it's just as well he's killing the character off!

This will probably be the last Coben book I read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've just finished this book today and wow! It sure is exciting! I've been reading these books for the past 7 or 8 years and loved each one (and have re-read several on numerous occasions), so when I read a new addition to the series it is like revisiting old friends. Although this touches on some very serious matters with regards to the Bolitar family and it's past (which is all revealed in this one) the sharp, witty dialogue is still there, the action is very fast paced (and thankfully isn't as over the top and unbelievable as Long Lost, which I felt made Myron out to be some kind of superhero) and the story is full of mystery and twists around every corner.

As well as a bit of a Bolitar history lesson we also get to meet Myron's nephew Mickey. I'm not going to give anything away but how many parts of storyline in this book finishes makes me wonder if this is the end for the Myron series, particularly as the next Harlan Coben book is a young adult novel starring Mickey Bolitar called Shelter (due out late 2011). So maybe the baton has been passed over to his nephew for the spotlight from now on? Time will tell.

I really enjoyed this book. It wasn't the best in the series and definitely isn't the worst but it is a thoroughly good read and if this does happen to be the last on in the series then so be it. I will definitely miss Win, Esparenza, El-Al, Big Cyndi and of course Myron but the way this book finishes is great and I would be happy with this ending if that was it. No doubt if Mickey Bolitar is the lead guy in Coben's books from now on then Myron will pop up from time to time and I can't wait to see how it all goes from here.
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here