Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
67
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 8 July 2013
I have read a few other books by Tami Hoag including all three previous Kovac and Liska books. This book is darker than the previous three Kovac and Liska books but in a way better for it. It has more atmosphere somehow and a greater intensity of character. The interaction between the two partners is good and the storyline is excellent. Best of all it will keep you guess right to the end. Overall a very enjoyable read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
THE 9TH GIRL by Tami Hoag begins on New Year's Eve with a body falling from the trunk of a black car, and being struck by a limo. Dubbed Zombie Doe by the press the story proceeds with detectives Kovac and Liska (Tinks) attempting to determine not only the identity of the victim but whether or not she was alive when she fell from the trunk and if this body represents victim number nine for a serial killer known as Doc. Holiday.

We view the story from the perspective of the detectives as well as the perpetrator, Doc. Holiday - a devious man who enjoys toying with the authorities and is wrapped up in proving that he is smarter than the cops. This is a tale that addresses not only the mindset of a killer but proceeds to examine the effects of bullying, peer pressure, social media, narcissistic behavior, the problems parents face in connecting and dealing with teenagers, and the realization that not all "monsters" are on police department wanted lists.

Detectives Kovac and Liska are somewhat stereotypical with the requisite number of "road-blocks" hampering their investigation. The multiple story lines are relatively easy to follow and provide an easy but nevertheless stimulating read. If you are a reader of suspense/thrillers, THE 9th GIRL should be right up your alley.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
Talk about keeping you your toes, well done Tami, I cannot wait for you next book to become available! Brilliant twist!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 December 2013
A body falls out a car boot and is run over by a party limousine. Is it the work of a serial killer nicknamed Doc Holliday or is it someone else? This is the problem facing Kovac and Liska, two of Ms Hoag's characters from previous books and the detectives on the case. The investigation is competent and covers a lot of ground but what I particularly like about this book is the personal issues. Liska's son knew the murdered girl and is being bullied at school so it all gets mixed up together. Ms Hoag is masterful at portraying both Liska and Kyle's respective attitudes and the bullying incidents really hit home as what goes on every day all over the world. I think this is one of the best books I have read this year and would urge you to give it a try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
I have read all of Tami Hoag books and recently I felt her writing had become tired but 9th Girl is an amazing return to what she does best. Tight writing, atmospheric and plausible. a wonderful twist on the ending and quite a sad reflection on teenage life not only in the US but across the world.
I recommend this 100% and I look forward to Tami's next novel.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
I have read all of Tami Hoag's books, and had her name not been on the cover I would have spared myself the time it took to read and saved the cover price.

It is as if someone else has attempted to replicate a work of hers by using her characters, in a genre in which she is known to write, about contemporary events usually with a murder or two and a love story. This book is not written in Tami's usual style, does not use her turn of phrase and format, or show off her incredible skill of characterisation and her ability to create deep suspense through plot line. It does not have the Tami Hoag sparkle.

The book read in places more like a news report of crime. I was not creeped out at all by Doc Holiday, or by the horrible school friends' clique, and found no surprise at all in the actual murders and motives. There was no love story and hence no way for Tami to showcase the accomplished way she deals with this facit. I did not find any of the usual Tami similies or metaphors until Chapter 34. I found the references to ipods, ipads, cyber stalking boring and repetitive. The zombie genre is banal, as is all the twitter newspeak.

Every journey has a start and an end, the Tami Hoag journey was excellent to travel, but I am sorry to now be at the end. To sample true Tami Hoag, read Dark Horse, Dust to Dust and Ashes to Ashes!

My overall impression of The 9th Girl: disappointing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
I was looking forward to the latest Kovac and Liska mystery. Unfortunately, this book doesn't quite meet expectations. A reasonable plot line, but the usual suspense is lacking and the storyline much weaker than previous outings for these detectives. The 'who dun it' elements are pretty obvious throughout. Various personal relationships are mentioned in passing, as though they will be expanded on later - but then Hoag doesn't come back to them. Overall although the book is easy to read but appears a bit rushed with insufficient detail.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
I couldn't put this book down, ended up reading in bed again with this book, even finding slower bus routes to work, just to read it, love Liska and Kovac, as always a great team, would love to see them in a TV series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
THE 9th GIRL is the fourth installment in Tami Hoag's contemporary crime series focusing on the high profile murder investigations in and around a fictional police precinct in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Although The 9th Girl is part of a series, each novel is a stand alone story of mystery and crime. The storylines are graphically detailed and the descriptive narration leaves nothing to the imagination. The 9th Girl focuses on a string of murders all pointing to a serial killer but the latest victim's identity hits too close to home.

Tami Hoag has combined the intrigue of a murder investigation with all the hallmarks of a television episode befitting Law and Order, Dexter and CSI. Add the camaraderie and anxiety of a close knit group of investigators, detectives and police detectives and you have the formula for a story of suspense, mystery and the criminally insane.

The storyline focuses on the recent murder of a young woman and its connections to a series of murders-all with a similar MO. As the investigation moves forward, all clues begin to point to something more personal and familiar.

The storyline also pulls into play the social media and online bullying seen in many recent headline news stories around the world using teen texting, Facebook cyber stalking and the viral propaganda of the powerful and rich. Where once bullying remained in the playgrounds and schoolyards it is brought onto the world stage through social media and shown to be a breeding ground for viral innuendo, discrimination and personal attacks. Even the dead are not protected from abuse and bullies.

The 9th Girl is first and foremost a story of suspense, mystery and criminal intent. Tami Hoag weaves the intricate details of a serial killer with some of today's headline stories and heartbreaking pain. If you love a mystery with a twist, The 9th Girl delivers.

My only complaint-at times the storyline fell close to YA territory with an inordinate amount of high school bullying; mean girl cliques; and discrimination and defamation of anyone considered on the outside. Even the principal and parents became parodies and caricatures of young adult novel clichés. The bullying and high school drama should best be left to the young adult storylines.

see all of my reviews at : thereadingcafe(dot)com
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
This wad my first reading of aTami Hoag novel and I really enjoyed it.
The characterisation of the lead police duo is excellent and I'm looking for more in the series.
I will certainly be reading more of her crime novels, I'm not so interested in the romance novels she writes though.( not my thing)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse