Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
59
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 18 December 2012
Fair play to Emma Kennedy for putting together this tongue in cheek synopsis of the Killing, which is a must for any avid fan. Everything you need to know about series 1 and 2 are here in this book. At 240 pages its quiet a quick read although very enjoyable thanks to the wit and sarcasm of Kennedy. Its a pity that the book wasn't held back a little so that series 3 could have been included but what the hell! The book also offers little gems of information from the cast about various scenes. Whilst very enjoyable as a whole, I found the latter part of the book begins to lag slightly (perhaps running out of the interesting things about the show) especially when it came to discussing the famous jumper worn by Sarah Lund! Ok, I can see why the jumper is a big deal but too many pages are dedicated to it, Danish cusine, furniture and knit wear in general! And it's probably aimed at female readers more so than males due to the change in tone everytime Troels Hartmann is mentioned!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Absolutely hilarious. Emma Kennedy is a fantastic writer and her passion for Forbrydelsen - shared by my whole family and probably every other viewer - shines through in the deep analysis of each series, details of Denmark, lessons in Danish, impressive craft section, and terrifying Forbrydelsen quiz! This book is made even better by the exclusive contributions from members of the cast, giving a fascinating insight into the production of this brilliant series. The introduction from Sofie Gråbøl is particularly hysterical. I will be buying it for every Forbrydelsen fan I know, and can't wait to start using the knitting patterns over Christmas!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
This is not a textbook on how to kill people; it's an amusing tribute to the TV series. If you don't like Nordic Noir, this will be of no interest; and if you do, it's not essential but certainly enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
I got through this book farily quickly and it made me laugh very much. It was just a shame that it was so short and it did not include Season 3.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
If the series ended too soon for you this will carry the Killing thing on for you, or allow you to indulge it away from the TV.

As well as facts and explanations of the plots there is subtle humour: the author has done a great job which adds to the series as does not detract.

Peppered with insights from the actors which are really interesting it themselves but also because they show how the actors make choices which influence the direction of both the series, and surprisingly, their individual characters. This later point is very thought provoking re other series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
I loved this book, though I don't knit, especially the comments from the wonderful cast. BUT- no Killing 3 , which was sorely missed...
But for those of us who think Sarah Lund and Co were wonderful, it was a really fun read. I am sorry to say, I passed the quiz, no
problem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
Bought this for this for my mum for Christmas as she loves the Killing. Have actually read nearly almost all of it myself! Emma Kennedy is such a funny writer and also offers some great, behind the scenes insights
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
This was ordered Saturday night and arrived Monday morning in an Amazon book box - can't get better than that. It is a nice looking book with all sorts of interesting facts about Denmark as well as the series. A good Christmas present for a 'Killing' fan.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
If you like the series it's quite a nice book.
I am going to tempt the version of the snowflake jumper, using dk wool although it's unclear from the book about the gauge to use. The french wool mentioned is not dk and is very expensive. Hope the pattern is ok, that is why I bought the book, since to buy the genuine jumper costs over £300 hand knitted in icelandic wool.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Emma Kennedy tends to portray herself too much as an idiotic stalker of Sofie Grabol (sorry about the spelling), otherwise it is a fun book to read. Both my husband and I bought it for each other for Christmas, so it goes to say!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)