Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
42
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2009
I bought this at the airport because it had Robert Ludlam's name emblazoned on the cover. I should have realised that something might not have been quite right when I noticed the price had been slashed by 50% !
This is not a Robert Ludlam book. This is not the Jason Bourne of Ludlam's earlier books. This book has been written ( I use the term loosely ) by Eric Van Lustbader ?
The plot complicates itself up it's own backside from the outset, jumping from place to place all over the planet every few paragraphs without holding your attention for a minute.
Some books are 'un-putdownable' this one is sadly one of those books that you keep hoping will get better......it doesn't !
The style of writing after Ludlam's 1st classic trilogy, is amateur, cliche ridden, with needless adjective overkill oozing of every line ?
What a waste of time and money ! If this is the standard of the stories after the original trilogy.......Forget em !
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2009
The storyline is OK and pretty much what I expected and bought it for. However the author drove me to distraction with his schoolboy like efforts to make the story move along by introducing, for e.g., a quick reference to a characters past which means, miraculously, they can come out trumps in a difficult situation. I felt as though he had written to a semi-climax and through lack of forward planning couldn't then keep the storyline moving without resorting to elementary techniques.
Analogies throughout the book left me astonished that they could be so tortuously bad that they spoiled the description he was trying to make.
Finally his use of a thesaurus didn't impress. This could be the only way in which the author could have dredged up some very obscure words in an attempt to impress the reader with his vocabulary. Once may have been acceptable, throughout the book just left me asking 'what is he trying to prove'?
Overall so disappointing I am moved to write this my first ever review. If I hadn't been trapped in a tent with nothing else I would have binned the book long before the end.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
Some interesting twists and turns. One of my quickest reads yet, but that will be down to skipping large amounts of descriptive texts. I wasn't overly interested in the fine details of EVERY room. But enthral lying all
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
Very, very disappointing. Without reading the small print I thought I was buying a book written by Ludlum. Oh dear. How wordy, descriptive, informative but NOT exciting. I bought two other "Ludlum" books at the same time but have given all three to a charity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
Another action story from the pen of Van Lustbaden based on Robert Ludlum's Bourne series. The storyline is good although rather complicated at times, and it is sometimes difficult to remember who some of the characters are until you cast your mind back to earlier novels in the series. ( At my age this can be quite tricky !!.)

A good read overall but I do believe that Jason should be allowed to retire to some quiet haven before he falls to pieces. He must be well into his 50's by now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2010
This is a cheap rip off of Robert Ludlum's Bourne series, clearly they wanted to cash in some more profit so dredge up this rubish author. Got half way into the book and bined it. Wish I had given up at page 10.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
I read the first Bourne book and I have read everyone since.
The main character Jason Bourne is very like able and the stories
are interesting. Each book you learn more about the main character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
I am a massive Jason Bourne fan and have complete respect for Robert Ludlum who writes a great book. This book is NOT written by Robert Ludlum, despite the pages of praise at the start of the book for Ludlum, it is written by Eric Van Lustbader and i thought it was completely appalling. It is poorly written and is not a Jason Bourne story in any way if you know the character and the Jason Bourne style. I found the book completely dishonest and a very poor read indeed, if you are expecting to read a Jason Bourne story or a continuation of the Bourne saga then you will be sorely disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"When Jesus had said this, He became troubled in spirit, and testified and said, 'Truly, truly, I say to you, that one of you will betray Me.'" -- John 13:21

As I have commented concerning the last two books in this series by Eric Van Lustbader, you won't be reading about Robert Ludlum's Jason Bourne in this novel. This is a new character. If you are looking for the old one, re-read the Ludlum books.

If you do want to read about this character, don't expect that The Bourne Deception will match the best of Mr. Lustbader's ninja stories. There's a bit of that element here, but it's subdued.

The good news is that in length and pacing, this book isn't as bloated as the last two. The bad news is that much of what's to come is so thoroughly telegraphed that what could have been an intriguing book becomes way too predictable to be satisfying.

The book's most appealing sequences come near the end and comprise much too small a part of the book's content to reach the realm of average suspense novel.

So what's it all about? Without revealing any spoilers (beyond what the dust jacket describes), Bourne's enemies combine forces to seek his death. When an attempt fails, Bourne lays low until he has time to recover. Yet, certain people fail to be fooled.

An international incident escalates when evidence emerges suggesting that a foreign nation is involved in shooting down an American passenger plane. In the background, there once again may be maneuvering for power going on.

You'll follow the new Jason Bourne as he seeks to identify and erase his enemy. In the process, you'll follow several threads to find out what other players and interests are involved. As a reward for following the evidence trail (which is much clearer to you than to the characters who are trying to solve the mysteries), an occasional action sequence will develop.

The book involves a lot of repeated interaction with characters that you will know well from The Bourne Sanction. I hesitate to suggest that you read that book before this one . . . because you probably may not want to read this one. All in all, The Bourne Sanction was more interesting than this book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Unfortunately, van Lustbader sticks to the same formula, and it is getting boring. By trying to keep a thread going through the series of novels, he has become repetitive, and the situations Bourne gets out of are becoming more and more far fetched. It is time to call it a day and stop milking the Ludlum connection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse