Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
10
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2011
This is a brilliantly written, great story to rival other more well known books in the genre. Simms weaves a fantastic tale full of intrigue which kept me page turning for most of a five hour flight. My first book in the DI Spicer series and it won't be my last.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Well for me this series just get better and better. It ended up being a late night as I kept thinking, just one more chapter, and then I just had to finish the book. I enjoy the the fact that DI Spicer does not toe the line in both his work and private life, always like a bit of a rebel. So on to the last book, and if this book is anything to go by, I will not be disappointed. I was looking for a new author to read and I am so glad I found Chris Simms and his DI Spicer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
Read all Chris Simms DI Spicer books now and book 5 and book 6 are on a par with the first 2 books. There was a slight slump in the books but the last two have been excellent! I only got one more to read now! :(
Please read these books as you won't be disappointed, they are exceptional. Credit must go to Chris Simms!
P.S when I stated a slump in the books, I didn't mean they weren't good, they were still amazing but just not as good. Slightly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2010
Cut Adrift is an extraordinary crime thriller; three good books compressed into one - woven together with a commendable lack of the kind of clunk and judder usually associated with the genre. At the book's heart is DI Jon Spicer - familiar to Smimm's growing number of fans - surrounded by a vivid cast of characters, including his sidekick Rick, his estranged wife Alice, his young daughter Holly, and the rest of his colleagues on the streets of Manchester - dateline 2010. There's something about the bustling, headstrong, Spicer which is deeply flawed - but which makes him all the more human. His concern for the brutally garrotted flotsam of the asylum system who start turning up on his manor is as genuine as his inability to let go of the case when his outranked by MI5, not to mention the CIA. Meanwhile a series of letters are being washed up on the beaches of England. Each tells a vivid fragment of the same story, of the almost unimaginable horrors suffered by a 'cargo' of human beings on their way to a better life who find themselves cast adrift in the churning grey nightmare of an ocean storm. Each letter adds to a picture of hell on earth that Bosch would have been proud of. At no point does Simm's first rate thriller fall down for lack of reality - he's done his homework, and although he doesn't let it show, the hours of research underpin a tale which literally encircles the globe, and penetrates the dark heart of the real story of the rape of Iraq by big business. But the real brilliance of the novel is bringing the threads together, at perfect pace, so that the fate of so much, and so many, can be compressed into one room in a Manchester hospital. Simm's final achievement is to make us care as much about a single fragile victim of international human trafficking as we do about Spicer's daughter. A mean streets thriller with the scale of a blockbuster. First rate.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
I started reading this in the library in the interests of 'research'. Ran out of time but really wanted to know what happened so had to buy the book and thoroughly enjoyed it as a well-written, engaging drama, intricate plot, plenty tension and human relationships.
I'll seek out more by Chris Simms
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
Loved the twists of the plot. Must read .. Interesting onsite on the Iraq war and it's consistencies. I want more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
cracking series, well done Chris. More please!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
enjoyed this book but others are better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
"Manchester's Detective Inspector Jon Spicer tackles another case, this time in the murky underworld of human trafficking. There is a nicely maintained rhythm between Spicer's personal and professional life that makes him very human. The ambivalence between him and his estranged wife is precariously balanced and ironic in that both know his job defines him as a person; that and the love they both share for their young daughter. The story is as unusual as it is riveting and it keeps you avidly turning the pages all the way to the unexpected dénouement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here