Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICEon 8 February 2012
For the last decade DI Joe Faraday has been a welcome interlude in and amongst the myriad of all-action investigators, super heroes who always win out in the end and, best of all, Faraday is British. Thankfully for crime detection in the UK, he does get his man more often than not but, running through the entire series, has been the on-going, relentless pursuit of Bazza Mackenzie whilst his own life began to disintegrate.

As if confirmation were needed, Faraday is no more. Any glimmer that he might just pull off a miracle escape from the clutches of pills and booze is doused in the first few pages of `Happy Days'. So, where to now?

Fortunately, DS Suttle is on form and the old reprobate ex-DC Paul Winter, brings his own and easily recognizable style to this book. Suttle has always been in play throughout the books, his promotion earned under the tutorship of both Winter and Faraday so now he takes centre stage, on the one side with Winter on the other, each wanting the same end result, the incarceration of Mackenzie.

Although this book feels at times as though all the loose ends are being sorted in readiness for the final closure, the story of Bazza's attempts at securing en election victory for his own, new Party is very well portrayed. Mackenzie's delusions of grandeur know no bounds, so it will come as no surprise to regulars that we're in for a bumpy read.

This is not the best of the 12 books but only because many of the previous stories were excellent; it would be very hard to maintain an improvement each time. This one conveys the menace of Bazza, the risks each side takes to achieve their end results and an ending which brings closure to this compelling series.

If you're a first time reader, it seems a shame not to start at book 1 (Turnstone). 'Happy Days' will stand alone but the reader will miss out on some excellent writing, a fantastic series of police procedural stories which grip to the end and, of course, a full decade of Joe Faraday's life and times, his lost family, his lost loves and, finally, his lost purpose in life. The silver lining to all this is Suttle is on the move; different venues, different people but, hopefully, the same old gripping story line next time out.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2017
Second Hand hardback in great condition.

Last book in the series which deals primarily with Winter and Bazza, and sets Jimmy Suttle up for his move to the country and his own series.

No real detective plot, more of a thriller as Winter decides he has to quit Bazza's employment, by turning under cover for the second time.

Probably doesn't work as a standalone story, but for those who have stuck with the series it brings a nice conclusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2012
First a word of warning: if you have not read any of the other Faraday/Winter/Mackenzie books in this series, don't start here. To understand and appreciate fully this book you need the background on the relationship between the three main characters that have developed over the previous eleven books. If you have read the others you will find this a fitting conclusion to the series that had pitched two men against one with Winter swapping sides from the police to join Mackenzie's entourage. In the end something had to give and this book, and with Mackenzie standing for Parliament with his Pompey First party, Mackenzie found himself squeezed from too many directions. New detective Suttle is involved with the action of this book and provides the link to a new series set in the west country. Whatever happens with the new books, we will miss the main characters including the overcrowded city of Portsmouth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 February 2012
I rarely give five stars but this book (and the series as a whole) deserves no less. I won't give away anything about the plot except to say there is a lot of plot. I guess most people reading this will have read one or more of the earlier books in the series but if not then I would beg you not to start with this but to read all twelve in order. It's only the second month of 2012 so a little early to be awarding a book the title "Crime Fiction Book of the Year" so I won't. Instead I'll go much further. This is almost certainly going to be 2012's Novel of the Year !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2012
I stretched this one out, last in the series and I didn't want it too to end. I missed one star off as I was sorry that the whole story has finally ended.There was no way the plotline could end neatly, too many threads. Faraday's death flattened everything out, time ot move. I was suprsied that Bazza meet a low keyed end...but then would I have believed it of Grahma Hurley had Winter or Willard pushing Baz off the top of Spinnaker Tower...no of course not.
If you've read the series then this one is, of course, a must, if you've not read any of this series then go back and start at the beginning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2014
I have just read all 12 of the Faraday series. They are excellent with respect to plot and character and social issues and I highly recommend them for entertaining and gripping reading. However, I find the 'modern UK/American English' employed annoying. No grasp is apparent of the appropriate use of demonstrative pronouns (this, that, these, those, them) and general and particular articles (a, the) and the word 'such' as determiner, pre-determiner, & pronoun (he uses 'these' instead of 'such'). Such wording is appropriate when characters are speaking because it reflects how many people in the UK now speak (most having missed out on a reasonable grounding in English grammar since about 1970 in British schools). He is not on his own as all TV and Radio journalists and politicians make the same errors repeatedly as do most other modern writers. I would be delighted to provide free of charge a critical review of his next book to suggest appropriate corrections and amendments as it is apparent that the editor at his publisher does not or cannot do it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2014
I have followed the Faraday books since the beginning and always loved them, but lost touch a few years back. I started them again and really enjoyed reading the last ones, especially with the death of Faraday in the last book.
This book was nowhere near the great read as the others in the series have been. I found that I just wanted the end to come asap. Not an engaging read. Sorry Mr Hurley not your best!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2012
... to finish the Faraday series in this way, even if the politics thread of the plot was stupidly over the top. Graham Hurley's Faraday books are on a par with John Harvey's Resnick and mark them as being the best two crime writers of their generation in my opinion.
The two Faraday telefilms made by French TV were rubbish (surprising as there are umpteen crime series on French telly and they are mostly very good). I hope UK TV isn't tempted to have a go.
I can't see Suttle working out as Faraday Mk II - a far too uninteresting bloke.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2015
anything in this now finished series about the Portsmouth Police duo of Frank Winter and Joe Faraday is 5 stars.Mr Hurley must spend lots of time getting ready for a new novel,making sure the story line and details are just perfect.I have bought the series over time and i cant say the standard ever went down form top class,buy and enjoy the best British Crime writer without doubt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2013
There's a major surprise at the end of this book, just as there was in its predecessor. I won't spoil it for those following the series, but it's very unexpected in one way, yet entirely predictable in another. I enjoyed the development of the character of Winter, and increased importance of McKenzie's wife. Look forward to the next chapter from Mr Hurley!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse