Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2014
If you're a runner, a triathlete, or especially a cyclist, this is the book for you. The legendary Dr Hutch walks us through the art and science of producing a world class cyclist, with frequent references both to the author's own experience as the dominant athlete in domestic time trialling in the UK for many years and to the extraordinarily successful British Cycling approach which scooped almost all the Olympic track medals, a good proportion of the road medals and a couple of Tours de France over the last few years. For a book about the science of training this is amazingly easy to read, and the authors self-deprecating sense of humour really shines through as he takes us through the basic biology of performance, training, nutrition, coaching, psychology and genetics.

This isn't really a book on how to train, or a sports science book. It's really an overview of how the whole fits together, and an explanation of the philosophy that's been so successful for the GB cyclists, often contrasted entertainingly with the author's own home grown attempts to do similar things. You won't come away from this book knowing what to eat and which interval sessions to do three weeks before your A race, but you will have a much better understanding of why you need to think about these things and how they contribute to your overall performance.

If you are interested in endurance sport, or in how to make a faster cyclist from a slower one, you should read this book, if only so that there are fewer people who annoy me by talking rubbish about lactic acid.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Very good and well funny. If you think you are taking your cycling a bit to seriously read this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
Absolutely delightful read. It's fascinating for anyone who has ever wanted to go faster because Hutchinson has tried it all and he writes incisively about what works and what doesn't. But it's not a training manual for cyclists, though there is plenty of tips to be found. It is a a witty expose of a lifetime obsession, enlivened by hilarious observations about the crazy things cyclists do. This had me laughing out loud on the bus and reading paragraphs to my non-cycling wife. I loved the book and immediately ordered The Hour when it was finished.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Nobody will actually take the advice of Michael Hutchinson this great book has to offer. One thing I know about amateur athletes is they think harder is faster and if that doesn't work then throw money at it. We're always overtrained, eat what we like and ride bikes which are all wrong. And what's more we think we're getting better.

Michael Hutchinson's great book offers advice of a good pro who openly admits his training was at times pretty
misguided.

I promise that I am going to focus on MY goals rather than imitate the professional after reading this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
I would recommend this to anyone even vaguely interested in cycling. Whilst some of the technical details might be more interesting to the competitive rider, the narrative and humour is always made entertaining and interesting. Hutchinson is not only a brilliant wit but an accomplished and experienced athlete and this he uses to the best effect in this book. Buy it!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Fabulous read for anyone with an interest in endurance sport. written in the lively self deprecating manner that readers of Cycling Weekly will know and love. Lots of current research on physiology etc with a section on genetics revealing a great deal that I never knew. Races along at a lively pace and finishes too soon. I feel rather guilty at how little I paid for this, hopefully the author gets a large slug of it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
If you can see past the Sky / BC Love fest, then this is a good book, written well with some wonderful anecdotes.

If you are involved in sport then you will understand some of the stuff in here. If you're a club cyclist you will certainly be able to relate to this and even have experianced a lot of the tales.

Its not a book that will give you full on guidance, but it does have some bits you can pick up from. Its more of behind the scenes of the Pro's of racing and the wanna be pro's and their striving for getting onto the next rung of the ladder.

I would have given the 5 stars but its too much of a love for Sky & BC and due to this some of the facts contradict some of the information in the real world, especially after reading this just after reading Nicole Cookes book!

I have a keen interest in the science behind cycling myself and the stuff about VO2 Max etc was well put forward.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
I enjoyed "The Hour" by Michael and as i have always wondered why some riders can just ride fast so i thought i would give it a go! Its well written and is not over technical or scientific which i prefer and has certainly made me review my coaching advice. It also answers the questions that we all have when reviewing the results board after an event. Having been caught in time trials by Michael a few times over the years and also by many top riders over the years i realized long ago that i was not equipped to be able to ride at "49" pace and now i know why.
Its a lottery and you either have it or you dont have it but good training and diet coupled with determination will take you a long way but if you don't possess all the ace cards you are not going to win any Olympic gold medals. Thanks Michael for a very interesting read and mi now reading it again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
A very thorough, insightful read on the key areas that cyclists and their coaches target to get to the front of their respective races. Hutchinson has the cycling pedigree to cover the subject with gravitas, while also excelling as a writer.

This book does go into a lot of detail, which won't be everybody's cup of tea. He covers the key areas of training, nutrition, technology, psychology and talent in great depth, which is at most points fascinating, although occasionally does get a little bogged down in detail (that said, you won't feel short changed).

Overall, a very good read for the regular cyclist looking for improvement and committed cycling fan eager to learn more about the sport.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 August 2014
Having read and enjoyed The Hour, and seen a positive review of this latest book on the washinemachinepost, I am pleased to say this is another fascinating read. Michael Hutchinson has a very attractive writing style, and for someone who has been so successful in his cycling career, his mildly self deprecating tone is very appealing. I've bought quite a few books over the years on cycling performance and nutrition, but I think I could have saved my money and simply read this book for all the insight that is necessary. I think it's fair to say that this is probably a book for the enthusiastic road cyclist rather than anyone else. If that's you, then I'm confident you'll enjoy this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)