Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
166
4.5 out of 5 stars
Fortunately, the Milk . . .
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£10.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 June 2017
My 5.5yo loves Roald Dahl and we have read all of them bar 2 (Going Solo and The Witches) and have been cycling through them on repeat for a few months. I was looking for a replacement read, and this was recommended. It is fun, and it is whacky, and it features pirates and dinosaurs and aliens, but for me it moves at such a fast pace that my boy struggled to keep up. It also features time travel which is a tricky concept to explain. Whilst he enjoyed it I felt that it was almost too frantic. I think Mr Dahl's genius is the description and context of time, place and feelings, and I felt that Fortunately, the Milk was missing a lot of the whimsy, pace and light touches of a Roald Dahl book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
I bought 2 of these for my grandsons aged 6 and 7 as part of their Christmas present. They havent had them yet but I have read the book several times and it is a delight. My daughter ordered one for herself ...she's in her 40's after reading one of them too. The story is a great romp if you are going to be reading it to your children. If they are old enough they will love reading the story themselves and the illustrations are amazing too.
It is nice that for once the hero of the story is the Dad too.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
Truly, Neil Gaiman is a master of so many things, all of which can be boiled down to storytelling, in any form. Whether penned for adults, teens, or children, stories are stories, and Ive found that sometimes children's tales have adventures and messages that adults need to hear or experience.
Fortunately, the milk is exactly that. A children's story that hold so much magic that all will fall madly in love with it, and take so much away from its beautifully illustrated pages.
A truly brilliant tale, in all Gaiman majesty.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
My 7 year old son loved this book! Very imaginative, funny and an easy read. He finished it in a couple of days, think it was one of those books you find hard to put down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
What an amazing book this is!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Great introduction for kids to the work of Neil Gaiman. Our 6 year old loved this book, which is lighthearted (unlike some of his darker books). She is a soft soul so its humour appealed more than, I think, Coraline would have done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2017
Typicallly good offering from Neil Gaiman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2016
My grandson read this book in a few days. He loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
As ever, Neil Gaiman writes prose so wonderfully flowing and full of beautifully crafted story ideas. The father is clearly producing the most ludicrous excuse from the very start, but draws everyone into his flight of fancy. Overstatement for glorious effect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
A wonderful read, full of imagination, wit and ridiculousness. Everyone should read this, (preferably out-loud to an audience of children) using different voices and actions. Or not. It's up to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here