Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
198
4.7 out of 5 stars
Maggie & Me
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 September 2014
Really enjoyed this book of a young lad growing up in Maggie's era and his difficult life. Lots of memories of 70's gadgets!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Heard it on radio four. Enjoyable, but not enthralling. Found interesting, but a bit like a Cinderella story. Curated egg.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
Made me laugh and cry, I could not put it down. Highly recommend this book. If you liked Adrian Mole you'll love this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
An emotional, funny and compelling read. Be prepared to have this book in your thoughts long after you finish reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
It took me a little while to bond with the hero, I was a bit nervous of being subjected to a weepie of abuse and bullying, but although present these were dealt with on a fairly even footing with the excitement and friendship also integral to growing up. I'm a little older and English but enjoyed the sense of place and time evoked. The title rather overstates Mrs Thatcher's influence on the course of events but it's all good context.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
I did struggle with this book in parts. It seemed to jump around & it was difficult to follow in places. I'm not sure if this was a chosen style to reflect the mind of a boy or maybe I'm not that sharp?!
However, I did enjoy the book. The writing created very vivid pictures of the characters & the fact that it was a biography made it all the more interesting. My true rating would be 3.5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Loved every page and in an odd way I didn't want it to end... Thank you for sharing your history Mr Barr
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2016
Moving and surprising. My whole book group which embraces most political persuasions enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
Having grown up in the 1960's and 1970's there was lots in this book that had relevance for me. However, the author's particular childhood circumstances and experiences were very different, and he tells his story well, although some of it must have been as difficult to write as it is to read. As a memoir of life in a Scottish industrial town it provides a memorable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
Totally enjoyed this book, great holiday read, simple and precise writing of a journalist. It's funny and sad but not self pitying as it could have been considering the vile adults in his life growing up.
Loved the reminders of Maggie Thatcher , the most hated woman in Scotland and in my house growing up too.
And of course the in sight of growing up gay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)