Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 5 November 2015
I had no idea The Simpsons contained all these references. Enjoyed the book. I watch episodes with new enthusiasm :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
A great book and a great read. Really good for people who have an interest in maths without being a mathematician.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
I am not a fan of the Simpsons but from what I read it seemed very interesting. I hope the recipient likes it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
Lovely and funny and well worth the purchase price it is a book you can come back to time and time again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 December 2013
Through the years we have had a whole slew of books dedicated to discovering the science or maths used in a fiction book, movie or TV show - think, for instance of The Physics of Star Trek or The Science of Middle Earth. And at first sight, Simon Singh's new book (which he tells me has been brewing in his mind for a good few years) is more of the same, but in fact takes rather a different approach. Where the other books look for the science etc. inherent in the world created in the storyline, Singh's new title picks out the mathematics explicitly incorporated by the writers into the Simpsons (and in its companion show, Futurama, to which the final few chapters are dedicated).

I confess I haven't much time for Futurama, but despite having always enjoyed the Simpsons, I hadn't spotted the unusually high level of mathematical content, the result of several of the writers having maths, science or computer science backgrounds. Sometimes it manifests in just a passing reference - perhaps the title of a book glimpsed for a second, or something written on a blackboard in the background. At others the maths is central to the storyline.

In some ways, what should be a `best of both worlds' crossover book that appeals to both Simpsons fans and maths nerds (publishers love crossover books) is in danger of being the opposite kind of product (I mean product in a mathematical sense - how else?), by being a book that only appeals to maths nerds who are also fans of the Simpsons. As I almost qualify for this, I was going to enjoy reading it anyway, but what saved it from being the mathematical equivalent of trainspotting (`Did you know that in episode #382, the number 47 is referred to ironically as a square, even though everyone knows it isn't, fnaar, fnaar!'*) was Singh's indubitable writing skill and ability to bring in interesting asides and deviations.

Popular maths will always have a smaller audience than popular science for good reason, but if you have only the smallest interest in maths and some enjoyment of either the Simpsons or Futurama you should find this an excellent entertainment, and certainly a revelation when it comes to the lengths that the writers will go to get some little mathematical reference in.

* This isn't a real example, but the sort of thing I mean
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
Couldn't put it down, but I found the later chapters on the Simpsons part got a bit repetitive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
l bought the book for my daughter,she hardly put it down all day.She has a degree in Mathematics and her name is Simpson
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
Surprisingly flat. Doesn't have Singh's joy for maths or The Simpsons' unique humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
bought for my Simpsons-mad son - he loves it - and it's helped him with his maths
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2016
Very good read, enjoyed it very much thank you! arrived promptly as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)