Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
31
4.3 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2015
Very readable. Aitken is no sycophant, drawing attention to Thatcher's weaknesses as well as her strengths. If you lived through the 1980s it will bring back memories, and also provide fresh information and insights into a period that stopped Britain's post-war decline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
I have not finished the book yet but as a long time admirer of Thatcher and being born and bred in Lincolnshire I am finding it a very good read and it tells the story of Margaret, "warts and all"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
It's basically well written and informative. There are flashes of brilliant writing. However, as it develops, the script becomes repetitive. The author repeats many set phrases and descriptions of events that become quite unnecessary; it reads like there's been a lot of copying and pasting instead of cutting - never mind the pasting. More robust editing would make this an even better book to read. Disappointing on that basis.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
Bought this for my husband's birthday. He is enjoying reading it. He is a great fan of Jonathan Aitkens writing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
A great insight of a Great Great Politician I cannot get enough of this wonderful person who we need in our times now! Well done to the author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
Pleased with this product
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Excellent read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
A sympathetic account of a major figure, a little heavy going in places
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
What an insider portrait of a driven politician! Her utter conviction that she was invariably right seemed to keep her immune from criticism even when this was justified, alienating many of her loyal and effective cabinet. Particularly in later years, this led to bad, idealistic decisions. The description of the atmosphere in cabinet is a revelation - not to be missed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)