Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
27
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 January 2015
Great quality, even (and especially) for a used book. Great price considering it usually retails for £7.99. Only read one story, which was Years of This Now, which was great and I'm sure this book will help me with my A Level English Literature short story writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
I'll keep this short. This is wonderful. Funny. Human. Something that bends the words into new forms, makes people come out from the shadows, leaves you asking questions. Like blasts of wind on a hot day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
A haunting collection as beautiful and startling as any of McGregor's novels (which are indeed truly beautiful and startling) where both the physical landscape and the internal are tenderly explored. There is much quiet power in the humanity of these stories and in the perfectly crafted spaces of words left unsaid.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
A set of stories with no story, very self-consciously written to be 'clever'. Result: hugely tiresome boredom. I want my money and the time I spent reading it back. If this book Hasn't Happened to You yet, don't let it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
May be I don't understand the concept of short stories but these seemed in the main pointless particularly the one that consisted of a list of town names only.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
Great writing, interestingly claustrophobic. Any more description would be a spoiler. And then move on to his other books, if you haven't already...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
Mixed bag, i.e. It sometimes rambles on a bit, but overall a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Excruciatingly trivial and mundane. I fail to see the upside I'm afraid. Compare these stories to those by George Saunders, for example, and you'll feel like you were conned.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
first class in every respect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
Good book in good condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse