Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 1 April 2013
This is a lovely well written story with a bit of a twist at the end. Description and detail is fantastic. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2013
Fabulously written and pulls at your heart strings all the way through. Whilst acknowledging the end with a smile, the heartache for pea (main character) lasts well after you finish reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2013
I really enjoyed King 's writing in this book and I was captivated by Pea throughout. This book is beautiful and enchanting and also scary as we see Pea's world from her point of view.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2016
I am finding this quite difficult to read for a number of reasons (although I am only a couple of chapters in):
1. Although it is written in first person, I would quite like some speech marks somewhere so I can identify where Pea is speaking out loud. I don't know whether this is only a problem in my copy as I would have thought someone else would mention it here. There are sentences that are difficult to follow because spoken words are mixed with thought words and in other places spoken words are mixed with actions so it is tricky to understand what is actually being said by the characters.

2. The story is meant to be told through the perspective of Pea who is five and a half. This leads to some amazing and beautiful descriptions but also becomes less believable when more advanced vocabulary is being used. This makes Pea seem older and then not a believable character.

3. Following on from the fact that it is written from a 5 year old's perspective, some of the writing is a bit broken up and bitty (as if written by a 5 year old). This is obviously good to build the character but I don't particularly want to read something written by a 5 year old (if that makes sense?).

The other reviews for this have been good so I am going to power through as I want to know what happens to Pea and Margot. But, if you are a stickler for punctuation, it may be best to avoid this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2014
Beautifully written. I just adored the descriptive text - such vivid images, with characters you fall in love with, and empathise with. Can't wait to read more Claire King.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2014
Lovely story good read with a twist
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 April 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a sweet tale told through the narration of Pea (Peony) aged 5 who lives in Southern France with Maman and her little sister Margot . Maman has lost a baby and also Papa who was killed in an accident in the recent past , and is heavily pregnant again , and Maman is sad and stays indoors, Pea tries her best to cheer Maman but the sadness is always there.
Pea and Margot play out in the fields and meet and make friends with Claude who is a strange man who has a dog and is treated with suspicion by the locals , this adds another element and Claude appears to understand and empathise with the girls .
It's a simple tale well written with lovely descriptions of the countryside and the sunshine and flowers as these things are seen through the eyes of a 5 year old , and is a great read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2013
I really liked this book - it's cleverly written and I honestly didn't see the twist in the tail coming. Poignantly written with wonderful characterisation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2013
What a refreshingly sweet story.. Kept my imagination running! A definite recommendation to take you away somewhere else for a couple of days! Lovely..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2013
Touching, delicate portrayal of a difficult summer in rural France for two lonely girls. Beautifully written, quiet novel with a touch of magic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse