Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
313
4.4 out of 5 stars
Coraline
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£10.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 January 2016
I bought this after watching the movie - I usually do it the other way round but this time, I didn't. Coraline is a really interesting concept and I love how Gaiman writes. He makes fantasy believable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2002
You may read books that make you laugh, cry or dance. Every now again you will come across a book that you recommend to someone else as a great read. Very few books make you change the way you think about something. This is one of them. The underlying morals of this tale, from the quote at the beginning and the passage about the wasps to the worry about starting at school, are brilliantly interwoven with a scary and haunting tale of kidnapping (or parentnapping) and bravery. Coraline is a modern fairy tale heroin. Every child, parent and teacher should read this book
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
I bought this on recommendation from a friend. Being a Fantasy reader, I was not convinced I would enjoy it. But I read it in a day. Really good read for both young and old alike. A brilliant book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
A slightly chilling children's book which was beautifully written by Neil Gaiman with lots of quirks as usual. A definite must for the children's reading list and would recommend to adults too :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2002
"Coraline", is from author Neil Gaiman who is very well known for some remarkable, thought-provoking and original fiction. This book is a departure for him, as it is ostensibly written for children who the author explains, read what adults would consider a tale of horror, as an adventure. Children can supply the answer, but this book will keep many up at night, or will invade and transform a dream in to a nightmare regardless of age.
In the event your imagination needs help, illustrator Dave McKean provides black and white images that will make you wince in the brightest light of day. I almost always find black and white imagery more powerful than color, and here once again, color would have detracted from these illustrations. Black and white focuses the images, color can sometimes confuse and distract, or perhaps dilute the message. The illustration facing the text on page 149 easily gains my vote for the creepiest image in the collection. If you have seen images drawn by Tim Burton for some of his films, which will give you an idea of what you will see.
Comparisons have been made to, "Alice In Wonderland", and while you will see it is a comparison that is easy to make, it does a disservice to both writers. A shared element does not automatically mean a comparison is valid or called for, and it can prejudice the reader before the book is opened.
The 162 pages took 10 years to create, and the author states it was both the most difficult book he has written, and the book he is most proud of. I think the audience for the book is as legitimate for adults as for children, and could spark some great conversation between generations, something a great book can do. The book also carries messages for both kids and parents alike, so the book is more than just entertainment.
Buttons for eyes, cat assassins, souls, marbles, mist and mirrors, rats who chant, and mice that jam. It's all here, and it will either keep you up, or keep the lights on while you doze.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
I saw the film when i was a little girl an i have always wanted to read the book. Glad the other mother is long gone. I dont want black button eyes. Bit sad that wiby and the doll wernt in it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2002
Coraline was one of my first horror books I have ever read. It was brilliant. It really got me involved in the plot of the story and I could picture all the characters, the rooms and the scenes in my mind. I find that one of the qualties to have if you are good writer. Coraline didn't take me long to read because of my intrest.
Coraline was my first book I have ever read by Neil Gaiman and I am looking forward to reading another of his novels. Especially if it is a horror one!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Another Gaiman classic, looking beyond the surface of the world and behind folklore and fairy stories. Wonderful characters, particularly Coraline who develops beautifully through the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
I loved coraline because it was like the actual film but was slightly changed and that's what books I love cause it gets your imagination going so I would definitely recommend this book xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2011
Loved this book, travelled me to a dark,magical place. I wouldnt get it for a child or young teenager though as I thought it was quite scary at points.
Read the book-don't watch the film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse