Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
231
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£22.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2014
Fantastic book. First time I've read any of this authors work but will be reading more. Wonderfully written in a very engaging style. History made really interesting. The book really highlights that history does indeed keep repeating and that those in power often get it wrong with very tragic consequences.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
Brilliantly researched and a rarity, a scholar of history who can really write. He thinks like an anthropologist and writes like a novelist.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
Superb books if you really want to know about the history of Afghanistan. Its very enjoyable to read the book. I will recommended to all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
Well written and accurate. This book will keep you glued to it until the end. Should have been written before the Afghan invasion in 2001
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Tuchman's A distant mirror describes a historical twin. Here, the present British probles are mirrored in the 1840 disaster that fell on a British army. Very well researched. Why do people never learn from history?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
This gives a good idea why we should keep out of Afganistan.
An excellent book could well be the definitive works on this subject
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
Wonderful insight into our failed 1st Afghan foray - does make you wonder why we returned and made the same mistakes all over again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
Excellently researched book that, time after time, raises the question why we let our politicians take us into Afghanistan again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2016
William quotes generously from sources on the many sides of his conflict. He presents the facts in a way that held my attention.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
Brilliant, gripping, exciting history and relevant to today and future events in Afghanistan. Required reading for anyone vaguely interested in understanding the situation there today. William Dalrymple deserves all the prizes available for historical writing, as he does it in a way which is a pleasure to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)