Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 June 2016
I'm not a vegetarian but I try to eat healthily and not eat too much meat. I also don't have much time for cooking and little inclination to search for obscure ingredients. If I can't get it at Sainsburys or Tesco, then I'm not interested.

HF-W has produced a variety of tasty, seasonal recipes here. I've tried quite a few over the past few years when I got this book. Some have been more successful than others, but that's true about any cookery book. I have recommended this book to friends and they have been very impressed by it. Some of the recipes are accompaniments, others are meals in themselves. Some are a bit of a faff, if they look too fiddly then I don't bother, but mostly they are reasonably straightforward, practical and accessible. And tasty.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2017
Unlike a lot of Veggie books there isn't huge dessert and sweet section which normally suggests they've run out of main course recipes. Here it is mostly mains and with a lot of original ideas which lend themselves to further experimentation.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 November 2017
This was recommended to us by a chef friend. As the main cook in a vegetarian family it's difficult to keep inspired and provide tasty things to eat. This book keeps giving me new ideas. The foldovers are a personal favourite at the moment, but we've tried so many things in here and they're all delicious.

Presentation and methods are well laid out, and this is definitely a book about quality of recipe, not coffee table food porn. Loving it and have recommended/bought for many of my friends whom also love it too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2015
Really good book. Some of the recipes are definitely stretching the definition of 'recipe', i.e. - cheese on toast. Come on Hugh, don't take the mick. That said we look at this book several times a week (we are both meat eaters, but eat vegetarian A LOT), and our favourite recipes are the twice baked potatoes, macaroni peas and carrot and broad bean risotto. The new potatoes, olive and beans are literally THE most amazing side dish, and the recipes are easy to follow and work, even if you sub out ingredients. Plus, we've added a bit of meat, chorizo or chicken for example, to some of the dishes and they are really nice, so it's a great book even if you're not a die-hard veggie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2018
Really great book. I borrowed a copy from my local library last month, loved the recipes so much that I bought a copy on Amazon second hand. He's a confirmed meat eater and I am not a die hard vegetarian as I'm new to it and still eating fish...but this book is excellent and makes it even easier not to need to eat meat. I have surprised myself at how much better a cook I am with veg recipes than meat and at how much more interesting dinners have become. Printed on high quality thicker paper with great photos. Good layout. Love this book.... and I love the Vegetarian Indian cookery book I bought by Meera Sodha too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2018
Wanting to have a few more meat free days and needing some inspiration. This was recommended by various vegetarian and non-vegetarian friends as a good book to purchase. Read the reviews, majority of which were very encouraging. Bought a used version. Arrived promptly and am loving the recipes. Mouth watering as I read. Love the fact that there are also alternative ingredients suggested to many of the recipes. Also that he suggests not to worry too much about exact measurements and encourages you to experiment and use the recipes as a base. Cannot wait to get cooking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2016
I wanted to try out having 'Meat Free Mondays' which is a challenge trying to convince my husband to do. I also wanted some new ways to get us to eat more vegetables without just boiling or steaming them. This book is great for both main meal and sides without being boring. You don't need to be vegetarian to enjoy this book, it gives a lot of inspiration on how to enjoy vegetables as the main event. My favourite dish so far was the aubergine parmigiana which was delicious and I really didn't feel like I was missing out on meat because of the texture of the aubergine. I'm looking forward to trying out some of the dips to take in my lunch box to work!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2017
This is such a useful book. My husband and I have cooked in excess of 30 of these recipes since purchasing and not one has been a disappointment. There's no need for any wacky ingredients either - all of the recipes are based on easy-to-find ingredients. Already 3 people who've stayed and ate at our house have bought the book after.... can't say much better than that!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2016
I bought this book last year even though it had quite a few negative reviews. I've tried many of the recipes and they've all turned out well. There's a good variety and something for everyone. My one gripe - which a couple of other reviewers also noted - is that he doesn't give preparation and cooking times for any of the recipes which would be very helpful placed above the ingredients list. I know you can vaguely tell after reading the recipe instructions but sometimes if I just want to make something quick it's really useful to be able to scan for times. Other than that, no complaints
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2016
Even though I do not really enjoy veg this inspired me to try a lot of the recipes which really enjoyed and have repeated
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)