Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
42
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. First and foremost its well written, with flowing prose and its told almost as a story rather than an academic text. So its a book you don't want to put down rather than a book you have to push yourself to pick up!

This book gives a great insight into what Hedge Funds really do and what the risks and rewards are. For this I would really recommend it. There are only two minor things I would be critical of. First, its entirely focused on the US. I know that international Hedge Funds are a recent development - but in the last 10 years, there have been some very large Hedge Funds outside the US. These are not mentioned. Secondly, the author may be suffering a little from Stockholm syndrome. I think he may have drank a little of the Hedge Fund kool-aid and this book isn't as balanced as it could be.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2010
As hedge funds increase in size, variety and number, they also exercise growing power over central banks and national governments, as well as companies and industries. Unfettered by a fixed investment philosophy, hedge fund managers bank on the flexibility to buy assets and sell them short as dynamic markets dictate. Some hedge funds have succeeded spectacularly and some have failed, such as those holding too many mortgage securities when the U.S. housing industry collapsed in 2007. But over its history, the hedge fund industry's performance has been remarkably good. Here, business journalist Sebastian Mallaby forcefully argues that hedge funds contribute to economic stability by chasing the true value of mispriced assets. His richly detailed book centers on the successes and occasional missteps of famous hedge fund managers, including such luminaries as Stanley Druckenmiller, Paul Tudor Jones II, Michael Steinhardt, Julian Robertson and George Soros. getAbstract recommends this book as a vivid introduction to hedge funds for those who are unfamiliar with them, and as a valuable, often entertaining, reference for financial professionals. And if you want to know even more, read the illuminating footnotes.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2011
I paraphrase Herodotus, "Great fortunes are usually wrought from great risks." This book enchants us with the amazing adventures of members of the hedge fund aristocracy - their strategies, characters, successes and bombs. It's thrilling to read and I finished this book knowing that to be a hedge fund manager one would have to be a psychopath or a scoundrel. There's no other way to describe how these guys gamble with other people's money - and the scale of it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2010
Very interesting historical account of the biggest star hedgefund managers since the 1960s to now, well researched and with many personal anecdotes and inside testimonies, and good high-level explanations of different funds' trading strategies returns in the past 40 years. I would recommend this to anyone seeking a better-than-usual introduction to hedge funds and how the industry got from inception to today.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
Possibly goes in to more depth and covers more breadth than anything by Michael Lewis or Greg Zuckerman. Very fun (addictive) reading. Excellent style of writing providing the background, state of play and follow on to each of his scenarios. Covers things right from the beginning with Alfred Winslow Jones to the modern day age. Constantly plugs hedge funds but also provides some nice statistics towards the end to show that it isn't all golden.
Essential reading for any hedge fundie
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
This book gives a thorough history of the emergence and success of hedge funds, without assuming much prior knowledge of modern finance. While the material may be, to some, a little dry, it's a well-written book that doesn't feel like a slog. It's interesting to hear about the characters themselves running large funds, and the level of research that must have gone into writing this text is really impressive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
...this could be for you. The history of hedge funds is told through pocket biographies of the main players. Trouble is, they're not an especially interesting bunch: being clever, ambitious, tyrannical, even philosophical, and making huge sums of money is no guarantee that the reader will actually care what happens to them. They rise, the competition catches on, catches up and overtakes them, and so on.

I wanted to learn what hedge funds are, what is special about them, details beyond the headlines that either glorify or vilify. I must come clean, however, and admit that I did not finish the book. Maybe in the last half of the book Mallaby relates all I wanted to read.

Alas, I got bored and being boring is a fatal, and unforgivable, flaw in any book.
33 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2011
This book is a gripping history of the hedge fund industry, describing legendary investors such as A W Jones, Michael Steinhardt, Paul Tudor Jones, George Soros, Julian Robertson (etc..) and even more recent fund managers like Ken Griffin or James Simons.

I gave five stars to the book for several reasons:
- The author does not only describe the hedge funds in good details but he also steps back and analyses the investing edge they have. That is the most interesting part and what makes the book so valuable.
- I enjoyed the description of those larger-than life personnalities with details and lively anecdotes on their way of life
- The book also provides an economical background and therefore it is a fun way to refresh one memories on important economic events of the XXth century.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
For anyone wishing to begin understanding how hedge funds came about, what makes them tick and what they are, this is probably an all embracing intro. It contains fascinating descriptions of characters and investment approaches and it answers most of a layman's questions about these exotic investment vehicles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
The story of the big cheeses in the growth of hedge funds. A lot of interesting tech talk about how a lot of people make a lot of loot from other peoples' money. Admire them or curse them for what they have done to global economics this is one you should read if you want to know where billionaires come from. It made it all a little bit easier to understand for me, and definitely a better read than JM Keynes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)