Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
244
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 December 2014
A beautifully written story. Fascinating account of life within a family in wore torn Palestine. Hardship tragedy and love in war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Very moving and in places shocking. A story of a close community whose lives were shattered by genocide and how they fought back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
I am really disappointed with this book. I want to read good literature from both the Palestinian and Israeli points of view, which really gets to grips with the issues. But in my opinion, this book lacks intelligence and depth. I found the characters wooden and uni-dimensional, and the plot un-engaging so far (I've got up to 41%) - it is one of the few books I may have to put aside and not finish. I found the heroic/evil divide of the Palestinian/ Israeli characters highly stereotypical, and lacking in complexity to the point of embarrassment. This book seems to be a vehicle for the author's own agenda rather than a piece of literature.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
Real account of history which is still going on today with a good story line of a little girl and 3 generations to follow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
Very interesting and amazing insight into Palestine. Is it only a novel or how much documentary comment?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 March 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Sometimes a book deserves to be read thanks to its literary value, enjoyment potential or clever plot. But sometimes a book deserves to be read because it reveals a truth that you might otherwise never encounter. Susan Abulhawa's book does have literary value, can be enjoyed (some of the time!) and does contain a successful storyline but the real reason you should read it is to let it speak to you about an ignored and ignoble history.

Even without her own proposal (via suggested reading) Abulhawa's book is bound to draw comparison to Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, as well as other books following connected individuals through a long period of turmoil such as Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. In fact, when I began Mornings in Jenin I was concerned that I was reading a book so derivative of Hosseini's formula yet lacking some of his stylistic magic that it would be a grind to get to the end. However, despite the glaring similarities in content and structure, Abulhawa's own style does gradually emerge and the book became more and more addictive. The story does get somewhat convoluted with side characters and plot off-shoots that almost feel like the author was running through a checklist of essential elements; but the threads are tugged together in the closing chapters to complete a very rewarding read.

I feel it is a book that surpasses its limitations and actually touches emotional depths that Hosseini's books never quite reached. I found myself variously nauseated, elated, horrified, angered and moved to tears. If even one tenth of the `factual' elements of this modern historic novel are true then you can't help but feel your blood boil at the injustice meted out on the Palestinians, the family tragedies and the blind eye turned by the international community. It's not just vitriol, though. There are moments of tenderness, companionship and love that are a truth of adversity and an understanding of the Arabic language and culture that isn't often seen in English language literature.

It's the sort of book I'll be suggesting to my friends and family. It may not be for everyone - and I'm sure it could aggravate those on other side of the political divide in the Middle East - but it has the potential to open many eyes and that can only be a good thing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
One of the best pieces of literature, written of a time that is so misunderstood. A must read for all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2016
This is an awesome, heartbreaking story. Very well-told, very emotional story. I really enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
This book opened my eyes to the enormity of the Palestinian loss of a homeland and the tragic consequences the conflict has on families.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
It gave an insight into something the world seems to have forgotten, I learned a lot and feel disgusted with the U S. and the U.K.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse