Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 26 July 2017
This is an interesting an useful book but for me it looses a couple of star because it tries to be too worthy and is written by someone who makes these products on an industrial scale which most of us do not. It eschews the use of nitrates, without, in my view sufficiently underlining the risks in doing so. For a professional with access to more facilities this may not be a big issue but for the beginner it most certainly is, botulism is very serious. I found the book a bit self-indulgent although the recipes are interesting as is the general narrative. If you are starting out to cure your own meat I would get the excellent book by Turan T Turan on Curing and smoking to learn the basic techniques, then maybe get this book later for some more ideas
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2016
Mum's always wanted to make her own homemade salumi but been a bit too apprehensive to try.
Needn't have worried with this book. Very informative and easy to follow. Lots of different recipes to try out. So far we've made prosciutto, bresaola and salami with great success. Spalla will be ready in September, can't wait! So so happy we discovered this book! Thank you!
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
Love it have made some wicked hams
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
PERFECKT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
good service and product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
This is the American edition of the book. It has pounds and cups as well as metric measures on all recipes. I am not sure how the text differs from the British edition, but it is different, because there is a note in the back saying that they have tried to keep the style of the original.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
Well illustrated and well explained book for those wanting to take steps into home curing and smoking. Steve Lamb takes you through the processes from preparing the meat to curing, smoking and slicing and explains the principals involved in each step in an easy concise way. This is truly the best book I have so far on this topic, each item is explained in such a way that you want to have a go! If you have never tried but want to this is the book to start you on the journey to cure your own bacon and other meats, you won’t be disappointed by the results when you follow Steve’s step by step guide.

I would recommend this book to anyone like me who thought it would be good to have a go but have yet too. This puts all those concerns over storage, mould etc to bed with a nice cuddle from Steve.

This book far exceeded my expectations having purchased other books on the subject. Don't let the size fool you, it's packed, its easy to read with loads of pictures especially where it is needed in the butchery area showing the end results.

If its for yourself and fancy a go at curing or you know someone who is interested this is the book to have.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2016
Nice book very informative but maybe a bit too much detail especially about the commercial aspect for the home cook new to smoking and curing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
Great book. Excellent coverage of subjects
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)