Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 19 July 2016
Well written in the same style as a Year at Otter Farm. A useful full book for the allotment or the kitchen, I will be making the most of it. Thank you Mark for writing with such passion for the things that make life very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 October 2011
A wonderful book filled with loads of useful information on how to look after your fruit trees/plants and how to get the best out of the plant.
The book explains about the traditional ways of growing fruit like the apple/pear tree grown in the fan or espalier,i like the fact that it is all down in easy to understand format not confusing or hard work to put in place.
The book is also good for starting your own small fruit garden,it explains how to do the work and how and what you would need to do before and after you have planted the fruit trees.
Well worth the money for a good informative book from people who really like growing their own,would recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2016
A practical and nice and not too thick book, for the everyday knowledge about the fruit sorts growing here, in the UK, and all the tiny things which are related to it, like planting trees etc.. It is nice, it has a recipes part at the end of the book, with lots of nice ideas - even a lovely rhubarb crumble.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
i love books on allotments,veg and flower cultivation.this is a nicely laid out book but find it very light on information about pests and diseases i think it attempts cover to much and is spread to finely
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2011
I have purchased all the River Cottage handbooks. For me, personally, this was somewhat of a disappointment but that doesn't mean that it would be for other readers. I find it light on detailed growing techniques for the various fruits and also on preservation and storage techniques. Again, this is a personal view. I do not think that it is the most helpful of books for someone planning to grow their own fruit - as I have done for many many years. That said, one is never too old to learn and on browsing through the book I have found some new ideas and fresh slants on things. I'm not saying don't buy it, but I am saying it may not be the only book that you need if you want to learn about growing your own fruit.
22 Comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
A useful and informative addition to the beautifully produced series of River Cottage handbooks. As with any reference book, it may not have anything new to tell us but it's handy having the information in one set of covers, especially when the design and lay-out make the book such a pleasure to use.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
My introduction to the work of Mark Diacono was "A taste of the unexpected", which I have enjoyed and will find very useful. Next I bought Veg Patch No. 4 in the River Cottage Handbook series which again I found a valuable addition to my bookcase. The chance to buy "Fruit" by the same author was too good to miss. Following the same formula as the others in the series it is well set out, nicely illustrated and gives useful charts such as the suitable companion plants. The recipes look really yummy.
Certainly a book worth owning.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2012
Super little book, well written, plenty of relevant easy to read and understand information, good pictures and drawings and the right handy size to use out in the garden. Everything you need to know to grow and enjoy your own fruit, a book that i'm sure we will go back to and use time after time. Happy to have been converted to this River Cottage series
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
bought alongside a couple of other river cottage handbooks, very impressed with all three. good detail without being too "over your head". plain simple language, good clear pictures. well presented throughout.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
provides info needed to care for plantings
no "over-technicalisation" i.e plainspeaking and understandable to the reasonable literate
easy to reference plants and technique
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)