Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
223
4.6 out of 5 stars
Heston Blumenthal at Home
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£18.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 August 2017
Fantastic book! In addition to the recipes, the most interesting are the introductions to the culinary techniques that Heston does in each chapter. A book to have at any cookery library.!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
GREAT PRESENT FOR YOUNG COUPLE LEARNING HOW TO PREPARE / COOK HEALTHY FOOD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2012
Must have Heston book. All your everyday cooking is elevated once you have read this book. My family are so glad I bought it. Easy to follow recipes and the all important theory behind it. Definitely worth the money. Brilliant buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
Used but perfekt
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2012
This is a very good book for the advanced home chef, all recipes involve a two, three or even four steps process. You won't find a step-by-step guide for the recipes but general indication on what to do with the ingredients, so it is necessary to have a good understanding of food preparation before one embarks on preparing anything from this book. Once said that, all recipes are absolutely intriguing, sophisticated, delicious and very doable in the average home kitchen (however, many recipes require complex food processing and therefore specific equipment and ingredients are required). Just to be clear! if you are at the stage where you experiment with gels, foams, sous vide, and molecular gastronomy in general, then this is the book for you! My only criticism is that every section in the book starts with an introduction to the science of food which I found very basic (much better explained in other more specific books such as McGee's enciclopedia) and out of context for a book of high-end recipes; I would have preferred those pages to be filled with more recipes! All in all a good book that will keep me busy for a long time as I intend to try every single recipes!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
Upon getting the book, I was eager to get both insight into Heston Blumenthal's world as well as hopeful to learn great recipes that would ideally show some of the experimental cooking he is known for, but doable at home. I did certainly find the former, the introductions were an interesting read as were the explanations of all different tools and processes he uses. That said, for me, many of the recipes were too time consuming and complex, but more notably, I didn't find many of them that interesting to be honest. It's a bit hard to explain, but quite simply there weren't a lot of dishes that made me think "this I HAVE TO try!". Of course, an additional challenge was provided by the more complex recipes requiring special utilities - the fact that I don't have a sous-vide cooker and dry ice already ruled out a good number of recipes.

If you are interested in reading and learning about Blumenthal's art of cooking, the book is certainly an interesting read, and if you have plenty of time to devote to studying the recipes and attempt the dishes many of which takes hours preparation, then then you will most likely enjoy it. However, if you are a bit more limited in time, and want to cook something interesting that doesn't take hours, then there are probably better books out there. I recently got Thomas Keller's Ad Hoc at Home, which I've found to be more home cook friendly, and more family friendly as well.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
yes, it's a beautiful, solid book. very well thought out with great selection of classics and more adventurous recipies

BUT - the recipes are often flawed by incorrect proportions or errors. Eg the peach tarte tatin with rosemary comes with about 400ml of rosemary caramel to "drizzle" on top. 400ml? that's close to a pint glass worth of caramel for an average size tarte!! You need half that much (or less) otherwise you won't see the fruit as shown in the picture.

Another example would be the spiced potted duck which he calls for the fat used to cook the duck legs be mixed back in with the shredded duck. Only problem is you do that if you do this you'll end up with a seriously salty mix (the fat absorbs the salt used to cure the duck earlier). Better half the fat used, and mix in the unsalted fat instead (as recommended by Gordon Ramsay in one of his recipes)

A pity, as the book on paper is amazing, but let down by poorly checked recipes.. each & every dish needs cooking twice with the 2nd attempt with major adjustments
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2012
I bought this for my husband and he really likes it and has tried some recipies and they have been very nice, a good buy and well worth it...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)