Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 14 February 2012
This is a gorgeously scary book for gothic fans of all ages. The rather old-fashioned formula did initially rather make me wonder about its appeal but, I'm delighted that I stayed with it. The developing relationship between Edgar and his uncle is mapped out beautifully and the balance of fun and terror is struck with real precision - a grand collection of spooky tales that I would hugely recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2016
I received a copy of this book via NetGalley.

A lad visits his somewhat unusual uncle in a dark old house just through the woods from his own home. There the Uncle tells the lad a series of creepy and often gory tales involving children whose behaviour is often questionable. A solid fun read, especially around Halloween.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2007
Uncle Montague is a bachelor who lives alone in a house that is packed with artifacts and collectibles. Edward loves to walk through the woods and visit Uncle Montague to hear his spine-tingling stories. Uncle Montague is reminded of each story as he picks up an artifact that is associated with it in his memory.

Edward's imagination is sent into a tailspin when he begins to wonder how Uncle Montague knows all of these frightening stories, and a darker side of Uncle Montague begins to emerge. Not all the stories have clear-cut endings, and Edward's fears become your own as you read these scary narratives.

From the Vicar's son who needed a hammer to mount his collection in the garden, to the Demon on the bench end, and Christina, who, to her horror, was granted three wishes, Chris Priestley has crafted a book that is impossible to put down, and definitely left me wanting more.

This book should appeal to reluctant readers with its fast-paced fear factor with a literary touch that just grabs you and won't let go.

Reviewed by: Grandma Bev
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2011
I love Chris Priestly, and this book did not disappoint! A quirky, creepy little collection of incredibly imaginative tales. Though I was slightly dissapointed by the way the threads were tied together at the end, each chapter was an excellent little horror with great imagery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2013
Very well written, a gripping collection of short stories with a connecting narrative. My 11 year old found it in her school library and loved it. Very scary though - I wouldn't recommend for younger children (or even older ones if they're of a nervous disposition!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2016
These are tales that are best enjoyed by a crackling fire on a stormy night.
Try to get the first editions illustrated by David Roberts...sinister and alluring.
An essential read for lovers of quirky Victoriana.

Chris Priestley - we want some more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2015
Recommended to me by Mrs Million, the headteacher, as being a good read for 'Scary Book Night' back in October... Busy lives, us teachers, only just got round to reading it. Very entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2013
Brilliant book. Has been passed down by my kids, and is definitely a must for a spooky halloween. Overall all the kids love it and actually I think it's really good too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2016
Read with my class as part of a "wider reading" exercise - everyone really enjoyed it and demanded more of his books - most of them are equally as brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2016
Arrived very quickly and was delighted with the quality and condition. Great price for a hard back edition. Would definitely use this supplier again. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse