Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
33
4.8 out of 5 stars
The Lost Photographs Of Captain Scott
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 October 2011
David Wilson has woven text and photographs, many taken by Scott himself, to produce a wonderful book that really does transport you back to that heroic polar journey. The landscapes of Scott, especially on the Beardmore, are stunning. But for me it is the calm and peaceful photographs of the many stops enroute to the pole that are, well, quite sad. At pony camp (S57, S36)and especially S60, where you can almost stroke Victor, Christopher, and of course Snippets, like all of them captured by Scott so that we, a hundred years later, can witness their moment. Of course we know their fate, but for now, on these pages, they are alive and 'kicking'. Later on we see their epic struggle, the iconic image of polar exploration, those same ponies heading into the whitness of the Antarctic landscape dragging the loaded sledges. We know the story but this book is a great memory to that journey.
11 Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
How poignant to think that Captain Scott sent back the last, undeveloped, rolls of film as he headed on the last stage to the South Pole - and never got so see what great pictures he took. And how incredible to think that they were lost for decades, so that everyone else forgot he'd taken great pictures.

Still, we have the great good fortune that this book collects together over a hundred photographs taken by Captain Scott. There are early pictures around the Base Camp, and practice with Ponting, the professional photographer on the expedition. Still, the key photos are of the men and ponies marching across the great white plain of the Ross Ice Shelf, and of men and sledges struggling up the Beardmore Glacier. There are also wonderful, calm images of the camps too - ponies in the sunshine, or men drawing and painting.

And the text is worth close attention too. David M. Wilson has a lot to say on the expedition itself and on the way it has been remade in the minds of each subsequent generation of commentators.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 February 2012
I'll add to the praise being heaped on this book. There are many books on Scott and other Antarctic explorers these days, many far from essential, but this is undoubtedly one to add to the collection if you have an interest in the subject.

The text is excellent and does a marvellous job in describing the entire expedition for the uninitiated, as well as providing plenty of fresh insight for those in the know. I consider myself something of an old hand on the subject of Scott but I learnt several new things. The maps are also superb, clearly identifying the features referred to and amongst the best I've seen.

The photographs are, of course, the main point to the book and are reproduced to a high standard. Scott was learning the photographer's art from Ponting and many of the early shots are experimental with varying degrees of success. Seeing Scott's first attempts helps appreciate how quickly he learnt and how well he came to understand photography in difficult conditions. Some of the later photographs, in particular those taken on the Beardmore Glacier, stand comparison with Ponting's work. The pity is that Scott never got to see the results.

Finally, I would suggest that anybody who buys this book also buys Scott's Journals (available for around a fiver) if you don't already have them. Reading the daily entries (where Scott sometimes mentions that he has been taking photographs) and then studying the photographs at the same time really adds a lot to the experience and helps make you appreciate the different aspects of the expedition far more. The sequences showing the ponies trudging through white-out conditions and drifting snow on the Barrier cannot fail to move, and reading Scott's anguish at the situation make these images really come alive.

Well-worth spending your money on.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
I'm a great admirer of the Scott Expedition, and this is a fantastic addition to my collection. How the explorers must have suffered in this environment and were so brave, and pushed on relentlessly through it to get to their goal. Superb pictures coming from very early equipment which worked even in this terrible enviroment. Wonderfulo memorial to them all.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2011
Great photos with intelligent accompanying text.

There is something very moving in these historic photos that document the best in human endeavour and companionship.
A must for anyone interested in the subject.

This book makes a great companion to the excellent "Heart of the Great Alone".
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
I bought this for Christmas for a nephew aged 16. He loved it and found it fascinating. Whilst in my brief possession couldn't resist careful reading. What a book. Beautiful and haunting photography illuminate these brave men's expeditions which have captured all our imaginations. I can't recommend this highly enough, and am getting my own.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
The pictures were fascinating and it was refreshing to read something about Scott which contradicts the somewhat received wisdom that his expedition was a complete failure. However, the actual narrative was often badly written and repetitive, repeatedly emphasizing the allegory of Jonah and the Whale as though Scott's expedition was fated by God to fail because of the use of cameras! Aside from this, a number of the pictures in the collection were missing and only added as thumbnails at the end, thus making the image virtually indiscernable. That said, those pictures which were published provide a unique insight in to travails of those men who were at the forefront of Polar exploration. In this sense, I would recommend it; but not at £12 a pop.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Looks like a very interesting book. I have bought this is a present so can't review the content.

It was posted it a box way to big with no shrink wrap or protection. It's been sliding around the box and has a few small mark due to this. Really annoying as this is a present. Also selected gift wrap option and it isn't wrapped. Just has a printout saying gift with the message I stated. Great book but feel let down by Amazon. I'm not going to return the book but I'm not very happy with the service. Amazon is inconsistent with how it posts items.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
Very interesting to read about the photographic history of this epic expedition. These are Scott's own attempts to master the craft of photography and some of his attempts are not at all bad. As might be expected, the variety of pictures is not huge and some are presented more than once with different degrees of enlargement. Still, if, like me, you can get a copy at a good price and are interested in adventure, the Arctic or photography, this large format volume is worth more than the coffee table
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
Fabulous book, even better than expecred! I bought this as a Birthday gift,but was so impressed gave it to my son straight away.He cannot praise it enough. Marveelous collection of photographs plus narrative showing how it was such a dreadful ordeal these men & some women, ent through & many did not survive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)