Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 24 August 2011
I enjoy all the audio Torchwood stories. This one was a real treat, and very different from any other Torchwood adventure. Kai Owen is brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Ghost Train has become my favourite Torchwood story. It's great fun and wonderfully performed by Kai Owen. The characters are true to their TV selves and the humour is suitably dry, "I stared. Jack stared. In its own way the skeleton stared". The relationships between Jack & Rhys, and between Ianto & Rhys are beautifully expressed. The story is really very good; time travel, invading aliens, a runaway train and great big rips in the universe. Marvelous. But what pleases me most of all is the portrayal of Rhys, a good man who loves a strong woman without being dominated or needing to dominate. A liberating portrayal of gender.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2011
This is a story I can listen to time and time again. Kai Williams nails it. The 1st person narative really works. It stays true to the established who universe. It's fast paced but also has little gems in the interaction between Rhys and his co worker. Also there are some cracking lines with Ianto.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
I must admit I was just going to listen to this for an hour then go to bed, then ended up listening to both discs as it's such an absorbing, tale.

The story had a ghostly, and the feeling of a very bad dream about it (probably shouldn't have listened to it before going to bed!). The story flowed slightly slowly at first, but built up to an exciting and involved plot. This is how Torchwood should have remained instead of going to America - scary and spooky with a lot of everyday ordinariness to make it so believable.

I must recommend Kai Owen reading of the book. His clear reading and expression is excellent and I love his Jack and Iantos voices, especially Ianto's deep and slightly meloncoly tones.

Will definitely be listening to more in this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 June 2011
Another Torchwood audio read by one of the cast, in this case Kai Owen (who plays Rhys, Gwen's husband). Unlike Department X this narrative is entirely first person told from Rhys point of view.

The first disc sets you up thinking this is a new way to tell a story form the perspective of an outsider who doesn't know what is really happening. On disc 2 you then realise that Rhys is actually pivotal to the whole tale and there then follows an enjoyable hour of 'timey-wimey' stuff as Rhys proceeds (with Ianto) to save the world.

Many memorable moments, including Rhys representing Torchwood as a company that helps alien invaders attack the Earth. I can only heartily recommend this to anybody
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2011
Initially from reading the blurb i thought missing fridges was a bit of a stupid theme and there was no way this would be a good Torchwood story.
Having listened to about half of the first disk you'll notice the story is very Rhys orientated and at first i was having trouble staying interested but i'm glad i did.
By the 2nd disk the story is amazing, very clever indeed and very Torchwood.
The slowish start makes sense and was needed to make this a brilliant story, I didnt want it to end!!!
Kai Owen reads and does the voices brilliantly by the way.
For those worried Ianto wouldnt make much of an appearance in this story, youre very wrong and alot of disk two is a brilliant 'bromance' relationship between Ianto and Rhys who for reasons i will not spoil has to live with Ianto in his flat.
This contains some lovely scenes with the characters including Rhys breaking Ianto's coffee machine and Rhys being unable to sleep whenever Jack stays the night at Ianto's flat because 'the walls are too thin.'
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2011
very enjoyable audio book, highly recomended, this is a rhys williams story, and kai plays rhys , he does a brilliant ianto impression, For any fan of torchwood they going to love it,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
An interesting story which needs a few listening to catch up with the intricacies of the plotting. I would recommend this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2011
I thought this was hilarious. James Goss has got Rhys's voice down so well. The story is a first person Rhys point of view, and I'm not sure if at times Rhys isn't an "unreliable" narrator. Not in a bad way of course, he's a lovely chap, more just as to the extent of his role in saving the world. Ianto is the other star in this, and Kai Owen does the most brilliant Ianto voice, the scenes where they are living together are very funny.

At first the story is mainly Rhys and you do need to persevere, it picks up pace a lot and the second half is better than the first.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here