Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 4 June 2010
I first read a Charles Paris book thirty years ago, and looked forward to dramatisations in due course. Sadly, the first tries involved Francis Matthews, who didn't display the right degree of well-meaning untrustworthiness that Bill Nighy seems to find so effortless. Nighy is exactly right as Paris; even in this very edited form, you have no difficulty in guessing how he will fail next. If he promises not to drink, you know the next time you hear him he'll have a hangover; and when he promises his estranged wife that he won't touch a woman for a year in order to win her back, you know at once that he will fall short of his target by the best part of eleven months. But he is quite an endearing rogue, and it is entertaining to see how a complete amateur works his way into trying to solve a series of deaths connected with a television series that he is doing. The time slot allowed for this adaptation was a little meagre. The dramatisation keeps up a fairly breathless pace but you can't help thinking an extra five or ten minutes would have allowed more of the original book to come through, but an excellent effort nonetheless.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
God I love this audio series.
Bill Nighy is totally superb as the jaded alcoholic actor who loves singing 60s tunes and reminiscing on his sometimes embarassing theatrical career - at the same time as he solves murders that seem to stalk wherever he works.
Supporting cast really add to the hilarity as Charles juggles his wife, his self-serving agent, his phony son-in-law and his penchant for women with getting regularly drunk and acting when he can get work.
This is my third or fourth time listening and it just gets better and better.
Just slipping down to the Drum & Monkey for a quick Bells.
We love you Bill!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
I have listened to every one of these cd stories now and I have enjoyed everyone. Bill Nighy just has that kind of voice that depicts an aging lothario with the kind of curiosity that has killed many a cat. His acting career is on the skids and he is a bit too fond of a drink or three. He can't say no to a large whiskey or a damsel in distress and both get him into trouble. The supporting casts are excellent. Suzanne Burdon as his ex but still close wife is also excellent. A few hours of near genteel, whiskey flavoured, mayhem.Big fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2011
Not the most intricate of plots, but a fair dramatic line. It does not match the Paul Temple, Agatha Christie, Lord Peter series, but makes for a good light listen in the car. I found Bill Nighy's drawling delivery slightly grating after a while, but it matches the character pretty well and occasionally the humorous asides are cause to laugh out loud. Run time 1 hour. I paid £[] in Dec 2010.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Simon Brett never fails to entertain, Bill Nighy reads the story brilliantly. Its so good to have something to listen to that is well spoken and very entertaining.
I can recommend these CDs to people with poor sight as my husband has it is so good for him to have programmes that keep him amused.
All th Charles Paris series are good and I now have them all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 May 2012
I love these compilations of radio programmes.

I tend to listen to them when I go to bed to help me wind down. The only problem is, I have to listen to them several times as I have fallen asleep before the end of the story!

So if you suffer from insomia, don't count sheep listen to an audio book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
as described and early
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
For anyone who enjoys Mr. Brett's wonderful invention and style the boozy, on/off actor gets involved in a great murder mystery. Bill's Nighy's interpretation of Charles Paris in this BBC radio offering is a delight. top notch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2011
This series is brilliant. The writing is witty, the performances excellent and the plots deliciously ludicrous. I really hope the rest of the BBC broadcasts will be released on CD as I missed them when they were on the radio. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse