Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
37
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2009
There are only a handful of radio comedy shows that could be described as 'legendary', and 'Round the Horne' is one of them - as such, it's hard to produce anything approaching a definitive 'Best Of' compilation, as there are so many highlights. This does a pretty good job, though, with appearances from most of the show's best-loved characters including Daphne Whitethigh, Charles and Fiona, Rambling Syd Rumpo, and of course, Julian and Sandy. At the centre of it all is the masterful Kenneth Horne, with full-bodied support from Kenneth Williams, Hugh Paddick, Betty Marsden and Bill Pertwee.

'The Best of Round the Horne' is part of the Vintage Beeb series, reissuing classic BBC LPs on CD format, with reproductions of the original sleeves and vinyl-style labels on the disc themselves, which makes for a nice touch. It's as good as radio comedy gets, and at this price, an absolute steal.
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
Nothing dates like comedy - usually. I think this stands up really well. The recurring characters are a joy and are all present and correct; Julian and Sandy, Rambling Sid Rumpo, Seamus Android et al. I think this is Kenneth Williams' finest hour and his double act with Hugh Paddock is a joy. High camp, exuberant and strangely British I can't imagine an American making head nor tail of it. Do also buy the CD The Bona World of Julian and Sandy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2010
Excellent selection of old recordings - wonderful to hear them again. Such clever writing and performances. Really glad I purchased this.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
Great fun. Recalls Sunday afternoons in the 60's spent lsitening to the weekly instalment.

The CD has been made to look like an old fashioned vinyl disc.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
There's nothing like this about these days (whoops, showing my age!), however this was bought as a present for daughters' boyfriend, who is only 24 and loves vintage comedy, so perhaps that's saying something about the comedy writers' of today?...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
Promptly delivered, item as descibed, good sound quality, no complaints
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2011
I have the original record and slso have it on tape but as I don't have a record deck i thought I would get the CD. Whilst it is vintage Kenneth Horne and Co, several tracks are missing from the record. i.e. The 'Flying Circus' for one.
It is still worth listing to for some good easy humour but I am disappointed that some good tracks have been omitted.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Thank you for this vintage comedy. Sent as a present for a friend's wedding anniversary. Good quality disk and priceless humour. Am sure they will love it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
What can I say, takes be back to childhood. It is still very funny due to the stella comedy cast and the writing of Barry Took and Marty Feldman.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
OK, the humour is a bit dated but it recalls memories of the family around the radio when these were originally broadcast.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)