Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
my little girl is 2 months shy of being 3 years old. As such she has decided that CD's are boring - no pictures. However knowing Thomas the Tank Engine she did react to a few places on this when I played it to her 'oh no' 'problem' came up a few times & some looking on the laptop & TV 'where's Thomas?'.

She did tire of it - but when transferred to MP3 for bed time it was much more popular.

Excellent sound quality, some nice touches with a couple of unlisted songs as well as the stories. Unlike other TV 'ports' it didn't suffer from the feeling that you were missing something or supposed to be looking at something. Very nicely read with good sound effects.

It's wont be a classic for the car, but will be used most nights mixed in with other tunes & stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This CD contains three stories from the "Railway Series": Branch Line Engines; Gallant Old Engine; and Stepney the Bluebell Engine. Each of the stories have a suitable moral and there are also three songs interspersed throughout the CD.
There are several different characters, which keeps the children (and adults) interested, and Michael Angelis, who narrates, has a soft calming voice and makes a good effort at the different accents for the trains.
The children have adored this CD since we received it a couple of weeks ago, and it is on repeat in the car at the moment. The songs have also been a big hit, and the children have just about learnt the words to be able to sing along now.
All in all a good CD, especially for the younger Thomas fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 June 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Well im lucky enough to have a nephew who is absolutely mental about Thomas the tank Engine (even though he doesnt realise that its nowhere near as good as it was back in the day!). Its probably the only thing that will keep him completely quiet, so the option to pop this in the cd player once hes worn out the DVD of Thomas the Tank engine, is great!

Its a short collection of 3 stories i think it was, read by the guy who currently narrates the TV show. Would have been great if Ringo had returned to do this but his classic days have past.

Its only about an hour long and its at a decent enough price, could be cheaper i suppose but Thomas stuff is always expensive. Still its great quality as always.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 July 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My children have been enjoying listening to the CD of Thomas and Friends: The Railway Stories, Branch Line Engines and Other Stories for a few weeks now. We often play them this as they drift off to sleep after reading time. This collection of Thomas stories is engaging and relaxing for the children to listen to. They know the books well, but this is the first time they've listened to the stories on CD and they have really taken to it. My daughter's only complaint was that she didn't think there was enough songs included.
I would recommend this CD for any parents of young children, put it on at bedtime & let them drift off to these tales - stress free.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 April 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My little boy is 3 and a half and is a big fan of Thomas (apart from Day Of The Diesels - he is terrified of this for some reason) so this is great for car journeys where he can listen to the theme, listen to the chap who sounds like Ringo but isn't and generally become immersed in the land of Sodor.

There are three stories, each about 25 minutes long and my little boy now requests his favourite story - Gallant Old Engine wherever we go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 July 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Another classic book of Thomas stories by Reverened W Awdry, Thomas gets himself into trouble yet again with the usual crowd there to help incuding the Fat Controller, Percy and a naughty Diesel engine.
Suitable for any young child these wonderful stories are great to read at bed time and as your child gets old enough great for them to practice reading back to you.I dont only recommend this book but the whole series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
it will be a delight for many young children to hear these Thomas stories at bedtime.
there are many more available to buy in the cd audio book format.
it is a shame that Ringo could not do the narration.
although Michael Angelis is very good.
there are some errors but i don't think they will notice!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 September 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is great for thoise short journeys to the shop with small kids in the car, they are short fun imaginative stories that blend the classic thomas stories with the new characters! Ideal if you need to calm a stressful car run with the little ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 June 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
When you consider the uber CGI-ed, uber politically corrected joke that HIT Entertainment have turned the legacy of the books and the show into that, upon what would have been the Reverend Wilbert Awdry's 100th birthday this year, would have displeased him strongly, there is at least a saving grace in that the memory of his original (and the best) stories of Thomas the Tank Engine and his friends from The Railway Series still lives on in these fantastic audiobooks of the affectionately dubbed 'little books of trains'.

Here, tales from three more volumes of the series - 'Branch Line Engines', 'Gallant Old Engine' and 'Stepney The Bluebell Engine' - are narrated by the show's principal UK narrator Michael Angelis, and all are a delight to listen to, for young and old alike, which is what Awdry's stories got the balance of so perfectly.

Young children can enjoy the gentle adventures of Thomas, Percy, Toby, Peter Sam and Skarloey (as well as, no doubt, mimicing the various whistles and toots of the trains), yet they are never patronized or mollycoddled as the current TV series now does, largely because of the almost Aesop-esque qualities to the original tales that will keep parents satisfied as well, which end on a central moral idea e.g. not getting too big for one's boots, as Thomas learns after he crashes into the stationmaster's house at breakfast time. The audiobook is a fantastic purchase therefore, guaranteed to entertain Thomas fans for many years to come. All aboard!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 August 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Back in the days, in the early 70's, I remember wearing out vinyl recordings of the Reverend W. Awdry's wonderful tales, then read by Johnny Morris of the then hit "Animal Magic." I remember the songs, the drama of the crashes, the winning little morality tales of vain Henry being walled into a tunnel, boastful Gordon falling into a ditch, and so on.

Now, over three and a half decades later, here I am playing new audio recordings to my son (5) who's already a fan of the series, and has been since age 3.

Everything that charmed me is intact and enjoyed by him. Michael Angelis, narrator of TV's "Thomas & Friends," continues to do a fantastic job bringing the Fat Controller's handful of a work force to life. The songs, some new, are as easily hummed and memorable as the gems I enjoyed, the sound effects of whistles, steam, shunting and crashes are vintage Sodor. A tip, if you've a slumbering child or baby in the back seat they may be woken by the occasional "peeeeeeeeps" as we found on one travel broadcast.

The stories are well chosen classics and nicely linked. Thomas gets ahead of himself and appals the Stationmaster's wife by crashing into their house at breakfast time and sprinkling the fried eggs with plaster so she'll have to cook them again (!), Daisy has a face off with a truculent bull, and there are issues with Peter Sam's flat funnel.

So there you go. The torch is passed to a new generation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse