Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



VINE VOICEon 16 April 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As soon as I saw this book I knew it was perfect for my son. He has grown out of Horrid Henry and has read all of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series and has started on the Tom Gates series.
As the title suggests, there is a lot of gas and smells discussed in the book. Just the right topics for boys aged 9+ - and the fits of laughter that I heard while he read the book proved that this is just right for him.
The writing style is great for this age range. It is written as a story, rather than a diary but it has a nice style which can be picked up easily and a quick chapter read. The story is accompanied by some fantastic cartoon style illustrations which add more humour to the book.
I would recommend this book to anyone who loves horrid henry and diary of a wimpy kid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 February 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Pretty hard to review a book that i haven't read BUT I have watched and listened to my 10 year old son - as he has read and talked about this book. He loved it and has now read (reread?) it 3 times. He's a massive fan of the Wimpy kid diaries so if you have a child who likes that type of book get this - they won't be disappointed.

His birthday is coming and more from the world of Norm is a certainty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 22 August 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is definitely one for the `lads` of about 10 yrs or so. Its full of toilet humour, nasty smells, tricks and treats? and cartoon illustrations,Its one to make them giggle. There are loads of these books in the series so I will be getting more.If your lad is hard to get motivated to get him to read try this I`d be surprised if he doesn't enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 October 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
26 Chapters over 275 pages featuring 12 year old Norm and his interaction with family and friends.

Mainly given over to speech and Norms thoughts including;

Aha! Thought Norm. So that's what this was all about. He might have known. Never mind all that global warming save the flipping planet guff. It was all about money! It always flipping was these days. It was so unfair. Why should Norm have to suffer just because his stupid dad had gone and got himself sacked.

Grandad can I take you to school tomorrow? We've got to take in something old that doesn't work.

If you've got a child in this age range then you will appreciate the humour more, lots of double meanings and taking everything literally to annoy his parents. I didn't like it but my 10 year old loved it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 July 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I read quite a lot of youth fiction and have often found it to be innovative and funny; not so `The World of Norm.'

Norm is the eldest of three sons and feels he is constantly getting blamed for things. In this book, his best friend is `changing' due to hormones and his youngest brother is upset because he says he's being bullied. Far from being further explored, these topics are glossed over and there are pages and pages of ridiculous conversion where absolutely nothing happens.

If you're trying to get kids to read, I would try the Tom Gates books or Diary of a Wimpy Kid which this series is clearly trying to emulate, without success.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 24 October 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
More trials and tribulations for Norm, now almost thirteen - those around him seemingly in a competition to see who can most annoy.

How he suffers! Irritating younger brothers, no bathroom privacy, dad blaming him for wasting the world's energy, ghastly clingy Chelsea next door, best friend Mikey battling against smelly hormones. Dog John is no help - forever peeing, drinking toilet water and licking his face.

Grim for Norm, but abso-flipping-lutely hilarious for us - laughs all the way, quirky illustrations a bonus.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 12 December 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My children (aged 9 and 12) have been big fans of the Wimpy Kid series so I knew they'd enjoy the similar style of humour in the World of Norm series. If anything they enjoyed this more than Wimpy Kid series as some of the Americanisms of the latter were incomprehensible but Norm feels like a meatier read, more for your money! A great read which will entertain older fans of Mr Gum and Mr Stink, probably aimed at around 9+.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 3 March 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a brilliant book which appears to be in a similar style to Diary of a Wimpy Kid and the Tom Gates series and my nephew absolutely loved it. As another reviewer mentioned anything that has poo or body functions mentioned is bound to appeal to young boys around 8 to 12 years old! Thankfully though the whole book is not about that subject but is written from a 12 year old boy called Norm's perspective and my nephew was howling with laughter whilst reading it. The writing on the pages is nicely spaced out and large but not overly large to make reading it easier for any not so confident readers. There are also lots of sketch drawings on the pages of the book and illustrations for example when his father shouts Norman it is in really big bold writing to denote shouting. A very very enjoyable book that is sure to appeal to the 8+ market and fans of the Wimpy Kid series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 8 December 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I read part of this to my nine year old grandson, who's since got mum and dad to buy him May Contain Nuts (The World of Norm), when he was staying over recently, and in between times he read bits himself. I found it difficult not to laugh and to keep a straight face when I was reading it, and the subject matter is typically riotous school-kid humour. Rather like `The World of Poo' in Snuff: (Discworld Novel 39) (Discworld Novels), anything that smacks of deviant humour designed to make adults feel uncomfortable is funny to a nine year old (+/- 2 years).

Because he read bits on his own I had to keep pinching the book back while he was out to fill in the gaps I missed. What I found was a well written, well thought out book. The inclusion of cartoons in amongst the largish text nicely breaks up the book so it doesn't become too onerous a read if attempted by a child.

Well worth the money, and well worth exploring the rest of the series. Anything that is well written and gets kids reading can't be a bad thing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 December 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Though this book, the third in Jonathan Meres's "World of Norm" series, runs to a hefty 270 pages, I did initially feel that there was some unnecessary padding of the material, with line spaces rather than indents separating the paragraphs and repetitive dialogue exchanges such as the following example from page 79:

"We think he's been acting a little..." began Norm's mum.

"What?" said Norm.

"Not *what*," said Norm's dad. "*Pardon*."

"I mean, he's been acting a little *what*?" said Norm.

However, it then occurred to me that the latter actually make for very realistic conversations, especially when uncommunicative young boys are involved, as is the case here.

In fact, much of the characterisation in "May Produce Gas" rings true. This includes the girl next door, Chelsea, whom Norm finds extremely irritating - at nearly 13 years old, Norm is not yet old enough to be interested in girls, and he is horrified when his slightly older best friend Mikey starts suffering from the effects of HORMONES!

I also loved the fact that Norm gets on better with his laid-back grandfather than with either of his parents, even though his mum is pretty cool too. (This is a generational phenomenon that has also recently been depicted to good effect in the radio comedy "Tom Wrigglesworth's Hang-Ups".) Grandpa is wonderfully characterised and described, especially his cloud-like eyebrows and the crinkles that appear near his eyes whenever he is pulling Norm's leg.

The story is a series of events rather than a fully developed plot with a decisive resolution, which I suppose leaves the door open for plenty more visits to the world of Norm. Nevertheless, I found large tracts of this book page-turningly readable. It's a gas!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse