Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 12 May 2014
I bought the set for my son when he was 10. He read a few but probably less than half of these. I read a similar number of them.
They are short and easy to read so anything that makes Shakespeare accessible is good
but
I think these are better for younger readers because for my son at ten they seemed too simplistic, I will introduce my younger children to them at about 7 or 8.
For me as an adult who loves Shakespeare's slapstick comedies I was disappointed that these seemed to lack a lot of the very things that are best in the originals - either parts of the story or some of the humour - perhaps inevitable in a very short abridged version.
Also, I found that in places the writing did not flow very smoothly.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2017
Extremely fun and informative for introducing Shakespeare to children in a fun, but not too young, way. Not in the least bit heavy reading. Excellent idea to at least give children a background knowledge.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2017
My 9 year old grandson is loving the "very manageable" books in this collection. He didn't put A Midsummer Night's Dream down at all!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2017
I wanted to increase my knowledge of Shakespeare's stories and characters the easy, lazy, way! Success. Point me in the direction of the nearest pub quiz. . .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2017
My 9 year old daughter loves these stories. We did do them very easy to read and follow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2018
I bought this for my 10 year old to give her a head start into secondary school, but my older daughter (14)has taken a peak and got some good points from it too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2014
Fantastic value for 16 books. Perfect for my little girl who 7 and is obsessed with Shakespeare! She has no trouble reading these books and they are specially adapted for children to read. Very easy for children to understand. Just brilliant. Definitely a recommended read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2018
Great set of books for young readers, gives a brief overview of Shakespeare theatre as well as a useful and thoughtful summary of characters and plots. A really great set of books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2017
Our non-nerdy 8 year old prefered Shakespeare to his normal bed time story last night. I know it might never happen again.......
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2017
These books are a great way to familiarise yourself with the original works. My 11 year old daughter has enjoyed reading them. Very well written .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse