Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
93
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2012
This excellent little picture book is full of colourful drawings and great little rhymes about all the insects you get in the garden. My son loves this book as the colours are so vivid and the rhymes are short and punchy. This is an excellent way of teaching about the beasts at the bottom of the garden and all there characteristics (how many legs a centipede has etc). Highly recommend.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2012
It is great colorful book with beautiful illustrations.My little one who is 3 really love it.Would recoment for boys and girls.You wont be dissapointed:)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 February 2016
Overview - This is a book which invites you into the garden to meet some of its residents: snail, slug, worm, spider, fly, beetle, earwig stick insect, ant, caterpillar/butterfly, ladybird, centipede, bee, dragonfly and a grasshopper. Each sections tells a little about the min beast e.g. what it likes to eat etc in a silly little rhyme.

Teachers - Giles Andreae and David Wojtowycz are well known in the early years for their stories commotion in the ocean, giraffes cant dance rumble in the jungle. This book forms a part of a fantastic series including mad about: mega beasts, dinosaurs etc. These would work fab with the 'sing it up.org' songs about mini beasts.

Themes: mini beasts, nature, caring for the environment and animals, habitats (water, air, underground), changes.

Activity ideas:
> Children could explore what habitats each of the mini beasts live in - this could involves sorting the animals into water, air and underground on a visual.
> Children could discuss which is their favourite mini beast. For older children they could write about their mini beast.
> Children could create a fact file on their chosen mini beast using technology and other books.
> Children could use paint to make a symmetrical butterfly on paper by folding it over. This could link to doubling in maths!
> Children could draw the mini beats focusing on their patterns e.g. the stripy bee. The key words could be written around the image.
> Children could care for one of the mini beasts e.g. the class could have one of the grow your own butterfly kits and they could over time observe it changing from a caterpillar to eventually a butterfly.
> Children could compare the mini beasts and categorise them - which have wings? how many legs do they have?
> In PE children could move like the animals e.g. slither like a slimy slug, or roll their bodies up into a shell like a snails shell.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2012
My two year old loves this, pointing out all the bugs he knows, and a few he didn't like centipede and earwig so new ones to learn too. And also works well as a bedtime book because on the last page it's night time and all the bugs have gone to sleep, so finishes well! Definitely recommend. We also have others from these authors and all have been good.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
I'm terrified of spiders, so any books that help to ensure that children view creepy crawlies as fascinating and not terrifying is good. So I think this book is great, with bright busy pictures. perfect
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
Purchased as a "Minibeast Theme" book to include in a story sack about, you guessed it, minibeasts. Lovely bright images and lots to see on each page.

Simple, short informative sentences on each bug, and interesting facts delivered in a fun way.

The book is much bigger then I imagined so an added bonus, for engaging a group of children.

All the images are clear and colourful, making it a friendly introduction to minibeasts in a gentle and fun way (especially for the reluctant child who is maybe not so keen on certain bugs).

Highly recommended for younger children and I think suitable up to about age 6.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2012
I almost have all this authors books now. My children (2 and 4) seem to love the sing song nature of the words of this story and the beautiful illustrations
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
Arrived quickly. Good condition. Fantastic book, we bought this for our two & half year old as was showing interest in insects but then a relative got scared around her when she saw a spider, which then gave her a fear.
The book has lovely little poems in about each creature, is colourful and has renewed our two year olds love of insects. She now loves to go around the garden pointing out the insects from the book. Would recomend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Working in a nursery I was already familiar with this book before i actually bought it. I have seen many children love this book, ranging from small children at ten months to older children at six, still in love with this bright colourful book.
It's happy rhymes and song like quality teach children about the various insects in a way that is lovable and fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
My 3 year old son and 6 year old daughter love this book. The illustrations are bright, colourful and interesting. The poems can teach little people a bit about these creatures. I had an ulterior motive for buying it - I want to read the poems to my class. I will have to sneak the book out of the house!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here