Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2017
Excellent. Really good for the whole family, children loved it and we actually thought it was rather fab and was very much involved when this came out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2012
In this delightfully bonkers story, Charlie is trying to get a little time away from Lola so that he and Marv can play on their own and catch strange and tricky creatures. Of course, Lola foils all their attempts to do this. Then she invites her imaginary friend Soren Lorenson to help them find the strangest and trickiest creature of all.

Lauren Child leads the reader through a marvellous maze of childish imagination. If you like your stories to be literal, then this is not for you, but my two-year-old is utterly charmed by Lola's antics and adventures. Lauren Child's illustrations are great and you can have great fun searching for the 'slightly invisible' Soren Lorenson on many of the pages. A fun book to share with your toddler.

This review refers to the paperback edition of 'Slightly Invisible' published by Orchard Books in 2011.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2011
There are always high expectations for a new book by Lauren Child, and this does not disappoint. The multi-award winning author has scored again with Slightly Invisible, which addresses the tricky problem of who Lola who wants to do everything big brother Charlie does - including playing with his best friend Marv. Charlie loves his little sister and these books are wonderful examples for children of how to get on well with their siblings - something the best of us find hard at times! Charlie and Marv have a very ingenious solution - but you will have to read the book to find out if it works! A perfect story for sharing with your family, and great fun to read together. The use of language will really strike a chord with children, as it reflects the way they think and speak - very clever.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2010
I love it. I was so excited at the prospect of a new Proper Lauren Child Charlie and Lola book. I was NOT disappointed. Indeed I was completely over the moon with my purchase. Charlie and Lola by any means is good but Lauren Childs Charlie and Lola is the real deal. Makes all the other short stories based on her characters seem rubbish. I loved it and so does my 3 year old daughter.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
Very suitable for a four-year old. The colourful pictures make it one of her favourite books. I would buy more of Lauren Child
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
A super transaction for a super book. The theme of Slightly Invisible is slightly older than most Charlie and Lola books. It tackles Charlie's frustration at Lola but it still retains the great illustrations and character interactions of earlier Charlie and Lola books. My five and two year olds love it and it reflects how they often feel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Our tot (22mths) loves charlie and lola and loves finding Soren Lorrenson in this book as he is printed in see through shiny ink so can only be seen if the light hits him certain ways. We pretend we can't see him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
This item arrived before the expected date in good condition. It was bought as a Christmas present for my daughter(6) it's a good story written well and she has read it over and over again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
As with all the Charlie and Lola books this one doesn't disappoint! A lovely story that we can both enjoy together and at a great price too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
It even includes Lolas invisible friend. My three year old loves trying to find him on the pages. A great book at a great price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse