Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
9
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
4
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2013
A very good approach to economic development. Even if your course is not on economics, this is a great supplement for any development course.

The chapters are demanding in that they present many theories and after some time you feel you have not learned anything, but the authors' attempt is worth 5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2011
This is an excellent book, has great examples, and offers great explanation.
I am very pleased with this purchase, and would highly recommend it to anyone studying development economics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Useful for the particular module I bought it for, however I feel a lot of content gets lost in the authors opinion and there is less focus on the implications of certain models, such as the Lewis model and Rostows theory of development, to name a couple. Id definitely recommend the book for my module (Development economics at NTU), but the book doesnt make me want to read deeper on the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
This is a good book for anyone studying economics it gives some great opinions on certain topic area.
However it is a very big book with not as many diagrams, due to the size of some of the chapters i struggled to really enjoy reading this.
Although it was helpful as a reference resource alongside my other materials
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
This was the recommended text for my Economic Development course and while it was useful, I found it at times to have an excessive amount of economic and mathematical jargon. ( I had never studied Economics until last term)

I think that some bright colours and increased use of bold / italic fonts would have made the book an easier read.

I would recommend it though, you just need to be patient.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2011
It took 2 weeks to get my book "economic developmetn", because of internal firm problems, but then i was very satisfied. Good communication. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
Useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
Love Economic Development. Why?
»I just can't belive that at 86, I fell beatiful about life.« Like positive attitude and music of Italian-American popular singer, artist who with his group and Latin friends, swinging and singing his greatest hits. Why? In November 2010, the United Nations Development Program introduced its new human development index which is still based on standard of living, education, and health. It has some changes, but there is no correlation between country size in population or area and economic development. Economics development is one of the newest and most challenging branches of the broader disciplines of economics and political economy. With globalization the world become more connected and integrated, more »global culture,« in which people consume similar goods and service across countries and use common langue of business. Development economics has also deal with the economic, social, cultural, political and institutional mechanisms, both public and private of entire society and system means a better or more humane life with three core values : sustenance (the basic goods like food, clothing, shelter, minimum level of living), self-esteem (feeling of wortines that institutions promote human values such as respect, dignity, integrity, and self determination) and freedom ( to be able to choose like concept of human freedom) represent human needs in almost all societies and cultures. Globally, women tend to be poorer then men as they are also more deprived in health and education. Interesting facts that women entrepreneurs are able to make more producive use of capital and start up from a much lower investment base, their rates of return on investments often surpase those for men. Why? Children need better health and education what means that mothers spend significantly more time with their children than father do. As a social science, Development Economics is concerned with people and how best to provide them with the material means help them realize their full human potential. Our very concern with promoting development represents an implicit value judgment and good (development) and evil (underdevelopment). Armed with complete approach that fits the challenges and potential of a fully dimensional world, only good Negotations is one that ends in win-win, like it and I do recommend!
Vladimir Dobrinic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)