Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
13
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2011
Good layout and probably great for key stage 2+ but I bought if for foundation stage and only managed to use 2 ideas form the book. There is a lot on team sport i.e football in it, I don't consider myself to be a PE 'phobic' and guess that this book would be suitable for someone who didn't really like PE but for older children.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2010
As with the Classroom Gems Mathematics book, it has clearly laid-out activities where hints and tips have been given in concise chunks. As an NQT without a great deal of PE experience, I have found this series invaluable to dip into, and have shared them experienced teachers who have also found new and interesting teaching ideas within. A great present for those entering the primary classroom - particularly if, like me, you need some guidance with the rules and ideas behind the equipment!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2010
I've two of these Classroom Gems books now. What I find really useful about them is that the ideas are practical and adaptable. Where appropiate they highlight the Cross-Curriculem links and they effectively give suggestions for an entire lesson plan, so when stuck and need quick ideas, most of the hard work has been taken care of for you. This book follow suit and give loads of ideas that could easily be applied when playing popular sports and games for most curcumstances, rather than just having a 'kick around' for the lack of nothing else to do.
I'm not that experienced in playing sports...let alone teaching them, so I found this very well laid out and presented well to help me make my last few physical activity lessons that were thrust upon me at the last minute a little more interesting and more structured.
Philip Marc
SEN Instructor
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2011
A great book that has many different and exciting ideas. The ideas could be used as starters to lessons, coll downs or as a full part of the lesson. It has many section which include
Section 1 - KS1,
Section 2 - KS2 games - football hockey rugby netball basketball striking and fielding net and wall skills.
Section 3 - Atheletic
section 4 - outdoor and adventurous

All ideas are axplained ina simple way and it doesn't take ages to read through the lesson idea. They are clearly set so taht you could pick it up and read an idea 2 minutes before the lesson - great for supply teachers to carry around, subject leaders and for all teachers. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
I used this for 2-12 year olds in a primary school and its great for understanding the fundaments of movement and teaching points with some good ideas on games for each sport. this one handy little guide!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2010
Great for the non-specialist with very clear skills progression in easy to understand steps. Includes lots of different practices for the skills being taught that can be adapted for indoor lessons when needed. Could easily provide all the games lessons for the whole year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Some really good ideas for class activities. Very useful if you are struggling to get everyone engaged in P.E. lessons
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
A super book and as a nqt fantastic for giving me ideas on how to teach p.e and make it more fun and enjoyable for children. Rather than focus on typical drills and games this book gives you creative ways to get children moving in p.e. definitely a must for those who want a little bit more confidence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
Made it easy to put in skill and games lessons for a varied, whole school programme across KS2. Useful resource that will be much used.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2012
Excellent book for any PE teacher or sports coach in need of a few ideas. I would reccomend this item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse