Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 30 June 2017
This book is not about training programmes, hundreds of which are readily available in cycling magazines and the Internet. It is about the basic things you need to get in order before you embark on a training programme or a race schedule, such as bike set-up, breathing, pedalling, stretching and nutrition. It is the philosophy behind Graeme Obree's success. He lays bare the level of commitment you need to make in order to become the best, especially if you have as few sponsors and resources as he had.

He opens by cautioning against over-training, emphasising the importance of rest to allow the body to adapt to the greater stresses placed upon it. The amount of rest is determined by what your body is saying rather than what a training plan dictates. He goes into almost obsessive detail about the type of turbo trainer you will need and how you will have to improve its accuracy. Quite obviously turbo training sessions were critical to Graeme's success in riding against the clock. He prefers steady-state over interval training; this probably suits him as a time trialist, and is no doubt why he does not give detailed training plans, which would be of no use to, say, sprinters.

The book continues in the same detailed manner, revealing the breathing pattern he devised, how to pedal efficiently, how to refuel without being taken in by sports-nutrition companies, and even delving into the psychology of competition and getting selected by team directors.

Most keen cyclists will learn something useful from The Obree Way, Those wishing to enter the world of competition will do well to read it, if only to see what it takes to get to the top. I certainly enjoyed reading what makes the great maverick tick.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2013
Bought this book with modest expectations ( There are so many books written on the topic of training ) Really pleasantly surprised, its just a good read. G.O. has clearly put the same amount of effort and approach into this book as he puts into his training. He writes well and says it as he sees it. 90% of his to the point advice would easily be corroborated by the 100 other training related books and experts. The difference is that this is a fun book to read, it delivers much good advice and avoids B.S. I may not follow every suggestion, but I'll know that by ignoring some of this I'm less likely to get faster. Recommend this book for any serious cyclist who are interested in how training really works. Best of all you don't need a PhD in exercise physiology to get something from this book.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2013
I bought the original, autographed, edition sometime ago and now this new version for my Kindle. Re-read it with pleasure and will probably do it again! To say the author 'knows his stuff' would be an understatement of the year - you are buiyng a bit of cycling history with this book. Although largely aimed at competitive cyclists, many tips and techniques apply to everyone on two wheels who just wants to go a little faster. Refreshingly, no 'training schedule' or 'plan' in sight.
A great, inspiring read for all interested in the discipline and an insight into the mind of one of cycling greats.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2018
Quite simply, THE best cycling book I've ever bought......I no longer need to search for coaching advice.......beautifully simple and informative....I'm starting to implement the advice and really appreciate that its for "the everyman" , not the pro cyclist........it all makes total sense. My utmost sincere thanks go out to Graeme Obree for sharing so openly, completely and honestly. Top bloke ! (A Bloody Legend)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2016
Small as it seems, the book is packed with ideas and "weird" points of view. On the second thought, they are not such "weird" at all, it's me stucked in a common way of thinking. In fact, they direct you in quite right direction, making most of the "opinions" and "reviews" you read elsewhere completely obsolete. Very dense book, you won't find any pointless chapters, paragraphs or even sentences, any of them can make you a better (cyclist). I use parenthesis since most ideas are applicable in everyday life, not only to notorious cyclist.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 September 2013
If you are interested in cycling at any level this is a very good book. If you are about to buy a bike it has constructive non commercially orientated advice, if you are a keen club cyclist it is stacked with practical non commercialised advice. He points out simple things that the manufacturers ad men might have you believe no longer apply, for example "the laws of physics have not changed" and on aerodynamics and materials for frame design (I won't say which material he refers to here "...they tend to be very blobby". Written in a style that is down to earth and comprehendable Graham Obree has achieved something here that few training manuals achieve, accessible and understandable information to the non medically trained reader and I guess of great interest to the medically trained.

The book is written from a base of knowledge and experience that few can rival and the best part for me is he clearly has no agenda to sell. He just wants to add value to your cycling experience whether you are a cyclist or an armchair fan or someone who wants to learn more about the subject.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2013
An excellent book for all cyclists. I was particularly interested in his breathing technique. I race criteriums and road and sometimes find that my breathing is a limiter in certain races i.e. constant short sprint efforts. His analysis and explanation on breathing is insightful and makes a lot of sense. I will definitely be training with his technique to develop better control. For me, the final sections on the mental aspects of riding are the best part of the book. I have always enjoyed Jens Voigt's quote's and especially his 'Shut up Legs'. Well, the books digs into that very personal part of cycling i.e. How to deal with the pain and suffering and having the mental toughness and the right mindset to WIN! He writes about these subjects in a most personal way, as if your are in conversation with the author. Great book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2015
Really enjoyed the book, some different outlooks to things but I liked them and have used some of the ideas. Might go and do his sportive the Flying Scotsman to try and meet the guy, although I did see him at the Hoy 100 September 7th 2014 riding with Sir Chris Hoy. Thanks Mr Obree for such a truthful and open approach to training, I can definatly relate to things you say and have adopted some of the ideas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2014
Graeme Obree is a legend, and this book sheds some light on how the good sports personalities can become great ones. Obree shares with the reader his training/stretching/breathing techniques, and winning mentality, in a down-to-earth manner that is easy to read.

As well as being extremely enjoyable, the information has helped me to improve my average speed on the turbo and on the road. All for the price of a pint, if you buy the kindle edition.

A no brainer for those of us who like to get out on a bike, and worth reading if you simply want an insight into the psyche of a sporting legend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2018
Just a bit outside my comfort zone in the how to go about training for endurance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)