Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
20
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2017
Lovely book in good condition - delivered quite quickly, well pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
The greatest book ever...for those that love a challenge and do these challenges. This book has been devoured by all members of the family and I may well get another one for son in law. Terrific.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
If you have any interest whatsoever in endurance sports - whether running, sailing, cycling, multi-sports - buy this book. It doesn't matter if you are a hardened Ironman triathlete or just a person who dreams of pushing your boundaries - this book will leave you with an intrigued smile on you face, and maybe just a spark of ambition in your belly. It certainly did for me, and I was mostly only gazing at the pictures!

The photos are spectacular, and the personal viewpoints are also valuable - particularly if you are serious considering one of these challenges - because you get some idea of the training involved. While this book is only an introduction to each of the races, and that is not a criticism by any means, if you are fired up after reading it (like I was and I think many other reviewers!) then I think the authors have done their job.

Great as a coffee table item and as a reference guide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
This is a book about those who set out to do something amazing. But also for those of us perhaps who never will - but love to dream of undertaking incredible feats - in the desert, up mountains, down rivers, over or under the sea, and even racing in the heart of the word's biggest cities. It is a book for doers and dreamers.
The introduction reminds us that since recorded time, people have been pushing themselves to the limits of human endurance. The authors realized that it would be necessary to set out some parameters for the challenges to be included in this book. This appears to have been successful and has resulted in some unusual and epic feats of endurance.
The book is cleverly divided into challenges taking place over different continents and included cross-continental challenges The excellent photography relating to each one, the description of the terrain, and discussion with the athletes who have completed the challenge, makes fascinating reading, together with key facts for each event.
This is an inspiring book, lovely to read and browse - and perhaps even to start turning a dream into the journey of a lifetime!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
Even as a non-athlete, I've really enjoyed this book. It is attractively presented, and you can dip in and out of it easily. The descriptions of the endurance challenges are detailed and well-written, and the personal stories of the people who have completed the challenges add a different, interesting angle.

I am not a sports fan, and only exercise for my own basic fitness (not the jaw-dropping stamina events in this book!) but I'm glad I bought this, it's the sort of thing I'll return to again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
Or as I like to call it "ultra porn".
This book was a joy to read as I did from cover to cover. I have done a few of the events in here and have plans to do many more but was amazed by there being even more crazy stuff out there to do.
The book is very well written, each challenge has the details of the event well written and researched and accompanied by fantastic photos and a competitors view also.
Works really well as a "coffee table" book that you can just dip into from time to time and would be an ideal gift for someone who likes extreme challenges and maybe at a loss as to what to do next. He/She'll find something to get excited about in here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
A truly inspirational collection of extraordinary challenges. Beautiful photography and concise descriptions take you from the Jungle of south America to the African desert in an awe-inspiring spectacular assortment of the ultimate endurance exploits and accomplishments on the planet.

Not a list of how to prepare and train for each event which you can find elsewhere, just an amazing and enthralling account of the hardest tasks people undertake just because they are there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
If you ever want to do something different in your life, then the book gives you those ideas and an insight as to what to expect mentally and physically and for some the opportunity to build up courage to challenge themselves and or friends. I bought this for a friend who was looking for something more challenging than just having run over 170 marathons in his life ( he's 46), it brought a smile to his face!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
I bought this book for my boyfriend as a birthday present and he absolutely loved it! I am not really into these things myself, but he won't stop reading it and now he's talking about doing some of the races himself.
The photos are fantastic (even I can appreciate them) and some of the places that are featured are stunning. I'd definitely recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
This could also have been called 'The Ultimate Bucket List'! If it's hard and you've heard of it, it's definitely going to be listed here. Great book which pulls together all manner of challenges providing ideas cross discipline for adventurous types.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)