Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 22 November 2013
As a football coach myself I was eager to get my teeth into this book and I was not disappointed.

First off the organisation and structure of the book is fantastic, each chapter leads onto the next in a logical order and is easy to follow. Each of these chapters are packed with in depth and rich information about the world of management from a number of world renowned managers such as Jose Mourinho, Sir Alex Ferguson, Arsene Wenger and Carlo Ancelotti.

The book offers no jargon, instead all information is specific but easy to follow. The book is broken into 5 sections with 2-3 chapters (based on a specific manager) within those sections.

The chapters themselves offer fantastic insight with invaluable reflections from each manager of certain situations they have faced and how they were overcome.

This book is a must buy for anyone interested in sport business, sport coaching or just a behind the scenes look at some of their favourite managers.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
If like me you're a business manager then you are also a people manager. Arguably it's the world's hardest job. Arguably it's also the world's most rewarding too.

If, also, like me you find business management books to be boring and find football to be exciting then you've landed on a real gem with this. The lessons are so valuable across business management and you'll enjoy reading them because you're actually reading about football.

If you're a Man City or Chelsea fan though I didn't want to help you so please - this book is of no use to you. Stick with the roubles and oil. They seem to work as well....;-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2016
I'm a massive fan of football books and this is truly one of the best I've ever read! It take's a much deeper look into the world of football management than previous books I've read and gives a real insight into what goes on in the managers office at modern day football clubs. including a range of quotes from previous interviews it is a real fascinating read and a recommendation for all interested in football.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2016
Terrific. Great insight into every different aspect of football and everyday management. I especially liked the in depth anecdotes about certain managers. I had totally different impressions of some managers before reading this book, especially Carlo Ancelotti and Sam Allyrdice. Very interesting and I would not only recommend it to any one in a managerial position but also any football fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
There is some good material in this book, in the form of various anecdotes and quotations from the managers themselves. Clearly a lot of hard work has gone into this.

Unfortunately, Mike Carson's attempt to parcel these insights up into a structured theory of good football management is only intermittently successful, and can be quite tedious. It might well have worked better had he analysed the approach of each manager one by one, rather than attempt to use their quotations to illustrate a theoretical point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Clearly written and a helpful addition to the many books on leadership out there. Carson has done an excellent job and he uses examples from a wider range of managers than one would initially expect. What emerges is that the sheer strength of the manager's personality and his willingness to 'stick to his guns' really matters even in the modern age. Football may represent a more traditional model of leadership with everyone showing great deference to 'the gaffer' but Carson also highlights that the managers are still willing to innovate and find new ways of going about their near impossible jobs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
Good Product and Good Delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
Taking all elements of the football managers and taking you through the accounts of all top managers including Mancini and mourinho as well as others. Interesting how the managers job has changed from managing players to being at times their counsellor. Tough job but for many well rewarded
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
A gripping read, not only to hear how as individual characters they react under the unique kind of pressures modern football managers face, but also in drawing out leadership themes that help us all operate, whether as the manager of a big team, as a stand alone employee, or even managing our own family team in our households!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
As I write this review Arsene Winger has recently been in the news after being lambasted by peeved off fans at a train station, not the kind of treatment you often see CEO's or senior leaders of companies like M&S being subjected to outside of an AGM. This is what has always fascinated me about football managers -how they go about their business under the intense glare of the media with their futures dependent on extremely short term outcomes measures like how well they have done over a few months, or even weeks.

Having read this book I emerged with a bit more insight.

The author's approach was to interview 30 football managers and glean nuggets of information relating to football management, so the book has chapters on:

The scale of the task, creating a winning environment , delivering results, personal leadership and 'great challenges'. Each of these themes have sub-sections dominated by one manager in particular. So when it comes to handling "outrageous talent" who better to speak to than Jose Mourinho?

Overall this makes for a really interesting read. What is not surprising is how many of the tips are lessons that can be applied in almost any leadership setting. It seems the techniques wherever you go are pretty much identical, it's just that football is exceptional with its ultra short term expectations which makes for a football managers ultra-short professional life expectancy.

At the end I came away with a bit more insight into football management and I think a lot more sympathy for likes of Wenger and Moyes et al.
Some of the material is redundant and repetitive and some of the managers don't seem to be exemplars of good leadership unless you're looking to learn from their mistakes, but all in all a pretty interesting read.

Who will like it?

Football fans.
Those interested in management and leadership of any sort.

Who may dislike it?

Some with a lot of knowledge on this topic as it may be deemed superficial.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)