Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more


on 14 April 2013
What a fantastic, well-researched and superbly-written book! Author David Owen should be rightly proud of his first-rate account of Foinavon's immortal triumph in the '67 National. Yes, he seems to have tracked down everyone involved in this unforgettable chapter of British sporting history but what in my view makes this book so special is how he involves those whose lives were touched by the amazing events of that far-off day, ie: the ordinary punters who - for one reason or another - put their winnings on a horse of which the Daily Express opined: "Foinavon has no chance - he can be discounted even in a race noted for shocks."

I am a fan of the Grand National and still count the '67 race as one of the dramatic sporting episodes of all time - I've been waiting 46 years for this book to come along!

Trust me, anyone who buys this book will not be disappointed...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2017
A wonderfully written book, not just about one of sport's great shocks, but also one which gives a fantastic insight into the world of National Hunt racing at the time. The way it weaves the stories of all of Foinavon's connections, from breeders (and his Dam and Sire), to owners, trainers, jockeys, stable staff and even some of those whose gambling gave them a financial interest in his victory is superbly written and pulls you right in to the heart of a fairytale victory. One not only for racing fans, or even sports fans, but for those who love to know the stories behind the stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2014
A slice of social history though the prism of one of the world's greatest equine contests, this book has the momentum of the National itself and the depth to give a real feel for the unpredictable and often eccentric nature of racing over the sticks. Engagingly written and information rich there is something for everyone, from the gripping account of the mayhem at the fateful fence to the four supermarket employees who won substantial amounts of money after being given the name Foinavon via a ouija board.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2017
Lovely book which will provide my husband with a very good read on his favourite subject
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2014
A great book.It gives the background stories of his career,the Aintree course's financial problems,jockeys,stable staff's memories of him.The author's style is entertaining and informative.I'd recommend this to all NH fans.Foinavon was a character in his own right.He was going well with the leaders the next year when he was brought down at The Water.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2015
We bought this book for a friend for his birthday and he and his wife love horse racing. He loved the book it took him straight back to his childhood where he watched the race with his grandparents. I was really pleased with book very beautiful cover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2017
Great story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2015
Great book, arrived in mint condition, thanks :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2014
Excellent Read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2014
Bought this for my husband who was born just after this race and he loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here