Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2017
We are already established beekeepers and bought this book for a friend who wants to start the hobby. However, I read the book from cover to cover and, even after five years of beekeeping, learnt several new facts and techniques. The only criticism is that the "getting started" section comes at the end of the book and not the beginning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
There is a fascination with bees currently with many turning to keeping bees as the perfect antidote to the stresses and strains of life. I am a beekeeper of seven years and it is an immensely rewarding hobby. The thing I like most about this book is that is genuinely useful and I think a good starting point for anyone thinking of taking it up. There are a few new, what I call 'fluffy' books about beekeeping out there but for the most practical of interests you need a book with meaningful content. And this has it in spades.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
endorsed by the BBKA (British bee keepers association) it is a very good guide if you are just starting to keep bees, want to find out more before you decide if bee-keeping is for you, addresses a number of FAQ's and also helps to brush up on your existing knowledge. It is a good reference work and the illustrations are generally informative and well produced. An ideal bee book
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
Having read a few starter bee books and looked at a few more, this is amongst the better. It is up to date (ie has lots of info on bee disease), and is well produced (lots of nice photos). There are a few typo's that need correcting before the second edition, but these are few. It covers all the areas you'll need to know about in your first year or two of beekeeping.

It is a very good book for a starter beekeeper, but should be supplemented with a course and reading some of the FERA information on bee diseases.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
I know from experience that there are many books that are offered on this subject but this is very good and I will lend it to other beekeepers. As ever delivered promptly
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
I bought this with the Haynes manual. This book is very much an overview of bees and bee keeping, rather than a practical guide. I therefore found the Haynes more useful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
This book is OK though there is nothing unique about it. Other books I bought either offer more deep knowledge or written with good sense of humour which makes it easier to read. We are in our beginning at bee-keeping with 4 hives and I am going to take Basic examination course at BBKA - this is the only reason I bought this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Excellent book, clearly explained and full of information. Everything is laid out well and a good range covered. Perfect for a beginner like me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Well written with clear up to date advice on beekeeping. Wether you are a complete beginner or an improver, this guide is the perfect companion to help you with your beekeeping.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse