Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 September 2017
I bought this for my 10 year old granddaughter, as we were going on a Norfolk Broads boating holiday. It was a good buy and she used it all the time to identify the birds she saw. Lots of additional information in it that she enjoyed telling us all about. It made her feel the 'bird expert'.
I find it astonishing that there is no longer available a bird spotters book specifically for The Broads, which is still such a popular holiday. But this seemed to be the nearest equivalent, even though not specifically for the area.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
Very good , for waterbird id I first saw it in a WW hide , I bought it second hand off amazon good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
great book and with good picture simple to understand
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
a must for any birdwatcher. lovely photos
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
A great book thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
Arrived on time, no issues, thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2011
I found out about this book from watching Autumn Watch 2011 so I decided to purchase from Amazon, I have to say the book is not for beginners but for everybody it is superbly written and describes each topic in easy to understand detail, having read the first few pages I just could not put it down it was and is magnificent. Most books are the same at describing the different birds has the run of the mill way but this is a real pleasure to pick up and read and it get's you more involved with Birdwatching and the hobby, a very big thank you should go out to the authors for this joint effort and I am certain potential junior birdwatchers will take the hobby up for life. Well Done
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2011
Over the years I have had many "Bird Books" to try and identify birds on my visits to Nature Reserves. This is by far the most readable as well as being informative and giving helpful tips. It is written in a casual friendly style that makes you want to read it as well as using it to look up a bird you have seen to try and identify it. There are lots of very good photographs to assist in identification. I am very pleased with it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Watching Waterbirds with Kate Humble
There are many excellent birdwatching / identification books (I have several) but many people , like myself , start with identification of birds in their back garden .This book ( in an easy , chatty style ) provides the challenge to move further afield and investigate the wetlands and coasts to see other (water) birds.
The book progresses as a series of “challenges” where Martin and Kate carry out several separate days birdwatching. The individual birds are pictured and described ( ca 2 pages for each bird). How (and when) to see , what to equipment to use is also covered
What is good – the quality and the variety of photographs for identification , the quiz system and “rarity points” as part of a learning process , the listing of “ places to see” (Wildfowl and Wetland Trust (WWT )centres), how to differentiate between species
What is (mildly) disappointing – ONLY WWT centres appear included in the “ where to see” sections. Whilst these are no doubt excellent there are plenty of other waterbird sites ( RSPB , National Trust) which may be more local and convenient for watchers .Still – an excellent introduction to waterbirds of the UK – rate at 5 star
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011
I had requested this item before it was available but was pleased that it arrived so promptly after. It is an excellent introduction to anyone interested in birds. The language is easy to read and understand and makes you want to learn more!

J Mills
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)