Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11


on 24 February 2014
this is a well known product and needs no introduction; however I thoroughly enjoyed using it for the year in question
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2012
This is an excellent book - ideal for the casual reading about little know facts. It is read almost every day and is excellent value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2014
a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2014
hive of info
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2013
Excellent value for money and a great tool for finding out about a variety of topics. A very good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2010
This is well presented and full of information. If you've bought any of the previous almanacks you know what your getting, but for those who don't here goes. This is not your typical trivia book, full of ALL the winners of the FA Cup and ALL the presidents of the United States which you will need for a typical pub quiz. But it's still full of facts and information. There is still pub quiz type things in there, like the kings and queens of England, Scotland and Great Britain/UK. As well as giving you information on the countries of the world (Leader and flags as well as such things as climate and terrain, for example).
But the things that this book has that most AtoZ's don't have, is information on organanisations, sports bodies and charties and societies for example. This book comes out with information on the royal family (finacial details, military titles as well as selected family tree's), the peerage, parliment (including all the 2010 general election results, the european parliment results and the all the regional goverment results), law and order, education, health, social welfare, religion, the enviorment, heritage, banking and finance, and the media, as well as much more.
There's also a section called 'the world' with gerneral information and figures. They have a similar thing on time and space. A section on The Year 2009-10, which tells you about the year in different area's, from archaelology to opera. The book finishes off with a general reference section with weight and measures, the periodic table, nobel prize winners and abbreviations.
That sums up roughly what's in the book. It is well written, researched and put together. It is a brilliant reference book and I'm glad I spent my money on it.
22 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2010
I bought my last Almanac 10 years ago, so thought it about time for an upgrade.
There are less available now and I had looked at some smaller ones in bookshops, the Whitakers was always wrapped in plastic, so couldn't be looked inside.
For those of you thinking of buying it, let me briefly describe what's in it.
It's roughly broken into 3 main sections - The United Kingdom, The World and The Year 2009-10.
The first section covers such things as - The Royal Family, lists of Peers, Earls, Barons, Dames & Knights. Lists of names of members of the Privy Council, names of MP's, full listings of electoral results, lists of independent schools, names of Bishops, Deans & Archdeacons by diocese. Full details of the laws surrounding Corporation Tax, Divorce, Employment law and so on. In all, running to 674 of the books 1371 pages.
The second section covers things such as the worlds longest rivers, distances in air from London and detailed descriptions of each of the worlds countries covering climate & terrain, history & politics, economy & trade etc., to page 1084.
The last section covers things that happened in 2009-10, including main news events by region as well as sports results etc.
My last Almanac was the Hutchinson Almanac (no longer available) and on opening, you are immediately struck by it's clearer layout compared with the Whitakers and may more pages of tables covering all sorts of information that an old anorak like me finds interesting - government spending on various sectors going back over the previous 10 years, world oil production by country, tables of the worlds companies ranked by market capital etc, etc.
The sort of thing that I just like to dip into over a cup of coffee, but also useful if looking up something specific.
The Whitaker by contrast seems much drier with list after list of names & addresses. It is absolutely jam packed with useful information, if you are interested in those things described above.
I personally, can't see myself having as much fun with this book as I did with the old Hutchinson and wouldn't have bought it if I could have seen inside it first.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2011
Annual publication providing a wealth of information principally about the UK but also providing details of other countries too. Review of the previous year always worth checking out if only to remind yourself how quickly events are forgotten
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2011
I bought this for my partner who is a proud trivia buff and he is very happy with it. I have peeked inside and it seems to be a really well put together book. Personally I have no idea where to start with the quiz but this onlly seems to make my partner even more determined to finish it - meanwhile I have free reign over the remote - wonderful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2011
If you have bought a previous edition of this book then you know what to expect and it doesn't let you down!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)