Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£22.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2009
I was lucky enough to have been Lectured by Anthony Blazevich at Brunel before he returned to Australia. A great man with a great mind. This book is clear in its definitions, quirky with its analygies, and a very easy read for someone at any level studying biomechanics. If you need a good book to see you through a degree or just for interest this is the one, buy it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2007
Loved each chapter. It got better with each chapter. By about chapter 6 I couldn't put it down...even though I hated biomechanics at Uni. Wish I had this book, because now it all makes sense. Definately recommend.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2007
Wow. I've never enjoyed biomechanics. But as a coach I always knew it was important. I love that this book answers very interesting questions (one per chapter) while teaching me the biomechanics. At the end of each chapter I take a sneaky look at the next chapter and have to read on. That's never happened with biomechanics. An enjoyable read for anyone...coach, athlete, student. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2010
'Sports Biomechanics' is an essential read and reference book for any coach or athlete serious about maximising performance potential.

Regardless of the sport you play it is certain you will find useful explanation of practical ways you can apply biomechanics to improve your personal performances.

Understanding the principles of Sports Biomechanics has assisted me to focus my workout programs and training activities by scientifically understanding 'how' my actions on field can be improved for beneficial outcome.

As a seasoned 2nd-Row rugby player I specifically found the topics relating to sprint speed (how to run properly), Newton's Law (lineout jumping and player characteristics), collisions (attack and defence) and agility (ball-running, how to maneuver) useful and wish I had read this book years ago. Personally and at club level we have implemented a number of the principles from the book with great success. (Many of these same principles used for rugby would also work for football or other ball game sports).

Sports Biomechanics is an excellent book well worth the investment.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
I was very fortunate to attend prof Blazevich Lecture on Sports Biomechanics. the Book is a great text for all Sports professionals , coaches and athletes. Having read the book , I now have a deeper insight and discussion on sports Biomechanics.
Definitley a book that must be read by all in sports .Good reference material and citations of online resources and academic publications. Decent price, prompt delivery . Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2010
This is a manageable book - not too weighty with concise chapters dealing with practical biomechanics concepts - eg how to get the swimmer faster, how to jump higher etc. Would recommend (I am doing a Sports Med Diploma and it is a useful adjunct to the biomechanics module). SD.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
Clear and concise book easy to read for someone that struggles with biomechanics this is the book for you, you could also try Andy Kerr! as his book on the subject is again easy to read and has all the relevent Newtons laws etc explained!, good book worth the cash!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Really a good book, understandable and enjoyable to read, which gives you a good introduction to the basis of the sport biomechanics. The only negative point is the price, because it's really a short book, but it's worth!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
This is a good basic book about bio mechanics which sets out the fundamentals and builds understanding through introducing ideas and concepts in a well structured way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
I completed a sports science degree at university and found this very useful for physiology topics. Good for references also.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)