Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
26
If Not Now, When?: How to Take Charge of Your Career
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 July 2010
Are you really happy in your work? If not, then this is the book for you. It covers almost every problem that you may come across when considering a change of career, promotion or life style.
The book encourages the reader to undertake a series of self-analysing exercises which will provide a deep insight of one strengths, abilities and personality and reward the hard work - and it is hard - with a new life plan.
The authors are plainly at the top of their game attested by the many case histories interspersed throughout the book. Their technique is stimulating and the writing is witty. I just wish I had had access to this book twenty years ago. The days of the long-service clock are long gone and the work marketplace is changing rapidly. This book will enable you to view your future with confidence.
If you want to get a life - get this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2010
If you want to take more control over your career I suggest you read this book. I found the exercises very useful in thinking about how I want to develop my career within the organisation I work for. I have found that further up in an organisation you go the more you need to develop influencing and networking skills and to do this it helps to have a clear idea of what you are aiming for. I have read a few career books in the past many are overly long or very much geared to the American market, whereas this book is international in it's outlook.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2010
I've read several career management books, and have found most of them incredibly hard work, not helped by the fact they're dull to read and draw on very outdated examples.

For me, this book really stands out as it successfully combines inspiring real life case studies with useful exercises to start proatively managing your career.

The authors speak from a position of authority, yet show real empathy, and have in depth knowledge of what works and what doesn't.

It's an engaging and useful book which I'll no doubt refer to again in the future.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2010
My review is written from a slightly different perspective to most reviewers, in that I had already decided to make the career change before reading "If Not Now, When?". What I found the book very valuable for, however, was to validate that the choice I had made was for sound reasons. Some of the checklists are very quick and easy exercises and help to make sure you are thinking objectively. I commend Jane and Camilla for their free-flowing narrative and for the abundance of useful case studies of people who have undergone career transformations. Surely Kylie should have been among them though?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2010
I loved this book. It is a quick and efficient way to get started on your way to a new career. Don't waste time reading books like "What colour is your parachute?" which is just too long and contains information and approaches that I have found outdated. This new guide provides all information you need and brings you on the right track. It is very succinct and to the point. It certainly gave me a nudge into the right direction.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2010
An excellent expose on the subject of changing your career path. This is a 'must read' for anyone in the coaching industry or contemplating a career change.
Jane and Camilla have really covered every aspect of the transition process, even touching on the first 100 days at your new employer! It is written in an easy to follow format, which keeps the readers attention throughout. A first class book which I will be thoroughly recommending. Thank you Jane and Camilla.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2010
This is the go-to book for an informative, comprehensive and logical approach to career management and job hunting. Its style is extremely accessible, with practical advice clearly illustrated by real-life examples to which one can readily relate. Whether or not you're currently undergoing a career transition, I highly recommend reading this book since it offers thought-provoking ideas and inspiration from two experts in the field.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2011
A very comprehensive and well structured book for those looking to make a career transition. As a career coach I recommend this book to clients for its straightforward logical approach and thought provoking exercises, which really do help in considering options and making the right career choices. The variety of real-life case studies are an excellent addition providing inspiration to those embarking on a career change.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2011
This is an excellent, very readable guide. It is something you can dip in and out of to find tools and advice to guide you on your journey. I particularly like all the case studies because there is probably an experience shared by one of the studies that will be similar to yours. It gives one confidence that anything is possible with a bit of commitment and effort.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2010
Camilla Arnold and Jane Barrett are experienced career coaches who are able to guide you in a constructive way to think about your career direction, and give sound advice based on market knowledge. They have produced a book that reflects this. It has helpful exercises and case studies and is written in a straightforward style without unnecessary wordage. Good sections on what to do in different situations including if a change is forced on you e.g. by redundancy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)