Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
183
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2009
I have been using this book personally for several years and as an instructor recommend it to all my students. It covers the whole of the RYA Yachtmaster syllabus in good detail with clear explanations and excellent graphics. Definitely a must have for anyone doing their Yachtmaster theory or practical.

I've lost count of the number of copies that have been 'borrowed' from me...luckily it's not outrageously priced and updated on a fairly regular basis.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
It is easy to forget many the details one learned on the Day Skipper course. This small, pocket book brings you back on track in no time. I think this is sort of thing most of unseasoned off-shore sailors who sail few times a year will be happy to have it on board.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
THis book really does peform in every way. Ultra compact but contains everything you need to know for everyday sailing. No need to buy anything else.Fits in your inside pocket so it can always be with you. As essential as your mobile phone!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
The book provides a lot of information packed into in a convenient and clear format. Its small size means that it is easily carried, but good design means it is easy to read. As a relative novice day skipper I have tried quite several such handbooks, but this replaces them all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2012
I bought other titles from RYA (definite mistake) and independent authors. This is the best!!! The RYA titles are all pictures and give no introduction to what is really required for the practical application and exams.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
Despite all the experience we have on the water, there is that sign, or signal that makes you ask: I have seen or heard it before but what again does it mean??

That is the moment you take the Skipper's Handbook and 9 out of 10 times you will find the answer. It really is a must-have for every skipper who thinks he knows it all! Because with the handbook, he really does!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
This refers to the 2012 print run. There are many print errors and facts missing completely. Apparently the 2011 version is fine and complete so I am trying to return this for a replacement.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
well written and clear and a handy pocket size - I particularly like the way the author has explained the collision at sea avoidance regs - keeps this skipper confident he is doing the right thing when entering/leaving new harbours in particular - good value recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2010
Be aware that this is a VERY small and compact book. Packed full of information, and it's size means it will fit into any sailing bag, no matter how over loaded. But it is slightly difficult to read. Not a coffee table book !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
If you are doing day skipper or beyond. This little book is the one to have with you on the boat or elsewhere. In a very portable little package that has a section on all the elements of sailing; col regs, tides, weather the lot. Amazing value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)