Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
How to Read the Landscape
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 September 2017
A wonderful book for geography/geophysical students. Mature as I am, I enjoyed the book and have given one to my son's family. My granddaughter got and A* in geography and this book helped
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
Great little book. Arrived in very good condition, am delighted with it, very informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
A convenient and richly illustrated mini volume, at 250 pages it is easy to handle, clear to read and as informative as anyone would want as "a crash course in interpreting the great outdoors". Photographs of landscape features - beautifully captured in themselves - are interspersed with lovely little coloured crayon pictures and also cutaway diagrams. Not just the geological features, but stage by stage processes in their formation are made quickly comprehensible. Format is divided into Understanding, Reading and Mapping the Landscape. Starting with the icon of a fossilised ammonite, the mini volume is brought right up to date with a section on GPS map reading. There is a glossary of terms and index, and the whole can be dipped into in any order at any time for rapid reference to the natural world around us. Recommend.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
The book contains the kind of information you'd find on a basic physical geography course; generally dealing with large-scale features. On that basis it's fine, if a little broad-brush - probably best read in concert with another volume such as Oliver Rackham's History Of The Countryside to cover smaller features.

The real disappointment, though, is in the illustrations. I have two others in this series and in both cases the imagery is excellent. However the pictures in this volume are, dare I say, a bit amateurish. They get the info across but they really don't add very much. I could have forgiven this if they had been the author's own work, but apparently a separate illustrator was engaged.

A shame, as it lets down a generally useful work.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Good, simple and straightforward to follow for beginners in this field. Easy to follow and instructive.

Used for my Geology course.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Clearly explains in a how landscape features came to be the way they are. Good for anyone who skipped geography lessons at school. Adds a new dimension to viewing the world. Good aid for any traveller. Each feature is explained with photos and diagrams and about 200 words of text on facing pages – nice format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
Very useful for novices, or as revision/reminder for those with an education in basic geology, with good illustrations and many photos used as examples, often located in the UK. A handy pocket book you could easily take out with you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2016
A real education in understanding our plant at ground level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2016
very good explanations based on good drawings
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)