Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£21.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2017
Perfect gift for a 70s fashion-obsessed girl (or boy!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2010
This is an enchanting book. A personal 'scrapbook' from Lee Bender, the talented founder and designer of 'Bus Stop', one of the iconic boutiques and brands of the 70's. It combines Lee's personal recollections and wonderful illustrations with a look at the social and civil developments of the era, including the civil rights movement and, in Britain, the passing of the Race Relations Act. None of the designs in this book would look out of place today including khaki, tartan, 'underwear as outerwear' and the 'one piece'. Bus Stop was the first boutique to put together a 'head to toe' offering including accessories such as shoes and jewellery. It has some wonderful photographs from leading photographers including Helmut Newton and David Bailey. This book will appeal mainly to those interested in fashion but it is not purely a 'fashion' book; anyone interested in the social history of the seventies and the impact it continues to have on our lives today, will find this a fascinating read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 November 2015
Mary Quant and Biba started a British fashion trend/revolution in the 1960’s and Bus Stop followed more or less taking over the cozy boudoir style of Biba once it finally closed in 1974. Bus Stop was opened by the fashion designer Lee Bender and her husband Cecil in 1968. Lee was responsible for designing the bright, glittering Bus Stop 'look'. Lee Bender's contemporaries as fashion designers in the UK at that time were people like Ossie Clark, Zandra Rhodes, Bill Gibb, Jean Muir, Gina Fratini and Thea Porter.

In the 1970’s Lee and her husband turned a small, experimental business into a roaring success opening stores across the UK as well as the USA, Amsterdam, Canada and Japan, something that would be very hard to do today. Young working class girls were hungry for cheap, pretty, trendy clothes and Bus Stop delivered with Lee’s unique specifically designed feminine collections, which they also manufactured. These included 1940’s inspired tea dresses along with collections that could be mixed and matched, a new concept at the time. You could also find all manner of accessories from scarves, hats, belts and bags, to resin jewellery. The range was popular with celebrities like Joan Collins, Charlotte Rampling, Debbie Harry, Lauren Bacall and Joanna Lumley.

However after 10 years with prices rising rapidly due to inflation, the nice clothes could no longer be offered as cheaply, but the girl Lee was designing for was still walking into Bus Stop expecting to be able to buy nice - and cheap. Other high street boutiques had also opened and the competition became much tougher. Lee’s customers could go into one of a dozen shops to buy something she needed. Bus Stop was no longer at the right price point for its customers and they were also restricted because they designed their own collections and couldn't respond quickly if the designs were unpopular, or to changing needs by bringing in new outside stock. Sadly by 1979 the business was in the hands of the receivers and closed. The chain was finally bought by the ‘French Connection’ group.

I remember the ‘Bus Stop’ and ‘Snob’ stores well as hip, trendy busy places in the 1970’s; they were very glamorous, they felt a bit 'glam rock' but also slightly retro. In this book the great Lee Bender takes us on a trip down memory lane explaining how the shops with their distinctive clothing developed and influenced the 1970's fashion decade and beyond. The book is full of Lee’s points of inspiration, with illustrations and photography of her feminine designs.

Her clothes are now very collectible and go for a high price; this is a book about a time and fashion moment, not that long ago, that is now sadly gone forever. A time when we weren't as 'label' obsessed as we are today and we wore our labels inside our clothes, it was a time before trophy handbags and shoes, when we just wanted pure fashion for fashions sake and not as a status symbol. The clothing and design was always far more important than the label. Just as it should be.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2010
As a member of the original Bus Stop team I ordered this book out of nostalgia for the crazy days that followed the opening of Bus Stop. I loved Lee Benders sketches and some of her insights into production and fabric orders were insigtfull and enlightening for new designers. I was kinda disapointed that she passed by the beginnings and covered very little of what really went on in the shop and the colourful characters who were part of the scene at the time. Our rivals up the street were never mentioned (and after all credit needs to be given where credits due) nor were those who contributed from the very beginning to the atmosphere and the inspiration behind the designs.For vintage lovers a book for their achives but for those of us that were there I was left feeling just a little disappointed.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
A wonderful and beautifully illustrated book. Bus Stop is a precise look at the early boutique scene of London in the 70's.
The pages are full of fabulous illustrations by Lee Bender herself, the founder and designer of Bus stop. This book is a timeless record of a time when a whole new look was emerging out of Britain. I would defiantly recommend this book to design students, costume designers and anyone who loves fashion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
A beautiful book taking you on a nostalgic trip down memory lane to the fashion shop in Kensington church street and it's designs and 1980s fashion
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
Loved this book. Bought as a present for my sis, as she managed one of the Bus Stop boutique's in the '70's. She loved it too, good memories.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
What a bargain. Good condition and a great book...much better than I expected too. Very 1940s inspired 1970s fashion designs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2016
Very interesting to read, and a trip down memory lane for me as I was a good customer in the early 1970's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
Was great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)