Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2016
Excellent series written by someone who is knowledgeable on matters nautical and writes "faction" with just the right blend.
I would rate him right up there with Forester and Co and have no hesitation in heartily recommend you read this.
Make sure you start with book 1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
I enjoyed this book and the preceding books in the series. The story lines are out of the ordinary and the characters are well drawn. It would be good to see the hero's enemies get their comeuppance sooner rather than later, but I hope that there is good mileage in the series yet!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2016
A Flag of Truce is the fourth novel in Donachie’s John Pearce series. The story takes place in Toulon 1793, during the period of the French revolution – a period of great conflict and shifting alliances in Europe.

Lieutenant John Pearce returns triumphant from a successful mission in Corsica, but receives a mixed welcome, particularly from his arch-enemy, the deceitful Captain Ralph Barclay of HMS Brilliant. Pearce demands that Captain Barclay, the man who originally pressed him and his fellow Pelicans into the Navy, be tried at home by a civilian court. But as the Siege of Toulon escalates in violence and the revolutionary army prepares to attack, all thoughts of revenge must be put on hold.

John’s Admiral Hood acknowledges his skill and bravery but distrusts his egalitarianism (Pearce’s father supported the French Revolution). Pearce has called for the court-martial of Captain Barclay who illegally impressed him and his friends – which he is entitled to do – and Authority would rather it was swept under the carpet. Pearce is entrusted by the commander with escorting a large group of radical French sailors to a port on the Atlantic coast, where they are to be set free. However, while Pearce is gone, the backstabbing Admiral Hotham, a friend of Barclay, fixes a court martial where Barclay is found innocent for lack of evidence.

Admiral Hotham – who owes Barclay money – is in charge of the court-martial and determined to clear him, by perjury if necessary. For this, Pearce must be got out of the way. What better than the difficult and dangerous task of escorting 5000 French, supposedly royalist, sailors back to France? There are plenty of deeds of derring-do, battles by sea and land, a duel, a storm and a near miss with the guillotine to keep readers hooked. Not to mention Pearce’s growing interest in Barclay’s lovely and increasingly disaffected wife, Emily.

In the end Pearce’s mission turns out to be much more difficult than expected. When he eventually returns, he finds Barclay acquitted and exempt from further trial under the law of double jeopardy. Despite clear warnings not to do so, he begins a romance with Emily Barclay, but mayhem surrounds the evacuation of Toulon and the revolutionary forces, including Napoleon Bonaparte, are closing in to retake the port.

A Flag of Truce is the best in the series so far. It is a somewhat “noir” novel which in a very interesting fashion tells a twisting story that feels very authentic. David Donachie is well-versed in the history of this period, and writes convincingly. I found this to be a very engaging novel which I do not hesitate to recommend.. Donachie is good at plot and the various strands: the court-martial, Pearce’s exploits and his relationship with Emily, intertwine satisfactorily and help to keep up the tension. I also liked the way that Pearce has his own agenda: we learn something of his republican background, for example, and this gives his character added depth; we understand where he is coming from and why he acts in the way he does. Donachie also succeeds admirably in the difficult job of getting across the political complexities of the time without resorting to lecturing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
I agree with some other reviews. i always enjoy these Nelson era maritime tales and this series in particular is very well researched. The story, however, now seems to be in need of tidying up with some conclusions to the various plots.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
I am a big fan of Julian Stockwin (Kidd series), Peter Smalley (James Hayter series), James Nelson (Issac Biddlecomb & Thomas Marlowe series), GS Beard (John Fury - 2 books).... and find David Donachie as good if not better than these contamparies. David's books, either John Pearce or his others about Harry Ludlow, real page turners...almost to the point I can't put them down. The historical settings, human interaction - are seconf too non. You can almost smell the gunpowder, and taste the sea-salt!

Exceptional books....highly recommend that any one who reads Neapolionic era naval fiction, and has enjoys Bernard Cornwall's books - will find David Donachie's {who also writes as Jack Ludlow} just as enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
having read somer of this authors works and been so so about them, I was highly impressed by these offerings . good series , quite believable and best of all .....from Deal.No really , they are excellent , I would recommend to all interested in the old navy whem men were made of steel and ships were made of wood.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
I have an interest in the naval history of this country and David Donachie realistically portrays the cruel world of the ordinary seaman and the privileged conditions of the Officers. Also the types of ships from small Sloops to 100 gun Ships of the Line. This is the background to an individual seeking jusice for himself and his friends who were clearly inlawfully impressed into the R.N.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2010
I have read all of the John Pearce books by David Donachie and I believe they get better and better as the series go on.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
An excellent tale of the period, well described by the author who must have a good knowledge of life at sea. Always ready to read the next tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Donachie is my type of writer. There are not many of his books I've not read. If you like history based books this is for you.
greymold
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse