Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2017
A really good and absorbing read although Rebus and his adversaries seem to be mellowing with age. Not so much grit and grime. Ending comes a bit sudden and with a neat twist. Very contemporary and topical.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2017
Very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Excellent read. Always a different storyline and I can never put the kindle down once I start reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2001
I wish they'd kept this as a "Jack Harvey" novel. To me, it seems to dilute the Rankin-Rebus series, which is probably the best thriller series about at the moment. This, in truth, is a pretty average thriller. I wouldn't recommend it if it wasn't written by the usually brilliant Rankin. Read this and by comparison you'll see just how brilliant a creation John Rebus really is. How could you compare this to something like The Falls? You can't. So ...
... My recommendations for 2001: 1. THE FALLS by Ian Rankin 2. POWER OF ATTORNEY by Dexter Dias 3. MY NAME IS RED by Orhan Pamuk
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2001
I've been a huge fan of the Rankin Rebus books for a long time and have savoured every one released. As Bleeding Hearts is one of three Jack Harvey novels (a Rankin pseudonym) to be re packaged and re released on the back of the slow clime to success of the Rebus novels.
This is a fair thriller, missing so many of the personal developments that have made the Rebus novels such a hit but that isn't such a bad thing. It's readable as a stand alone thriller and I did find myself feeling quite sympathetic for the hero - a professional assassin. It was an interesting story - assassin is hired to hit a journalist, as he fires the shot and she goes down the place is suddenly crawling with police - someone tipped them off. He escapes but is determined to find out who ordered the hit and who set him up. There are some nice twists and turns and a very dour and almost Marlowesque American private detective (Rankin was able to write the book thanks to an American trip paid for by his winning the Chandler award - so it's quite acceptable).
The ending isn't disappointing but it is slightly predictable but none the worse for being so as by that time it isn't about who did it. My only criticism is that there was a similar formula used with Witch Hunt, another Jack Harvey novel. All in all it's worth reading but die hard fans of Rankin may be a bit disappointed.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2004
Okay it is different to the Rebus novels but a brilliant read all the same. Hoffer was great, over bearing and so critical of just about everything yet he bought a certain amount of humour to this already great read. Do not be put off by some of the reviews, this happens everytime an author has a change of style or breaks away from an already familiar track. I think I prefer this change and thoroughly enjoyed the book. Totally deserving of 5 stars. Will certainly be reading much more by this author.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2001
Story told very well for the majority of the book, just gets a bit so-so nearing the end, when some characters are eliminated from the story - it makes it [relatively] easy [in hindsight?] to guess the ending. Overall, well worth a read - but Rebus as a character is close to unbeatable; therefore Weston/West fails to live up to Rankins normal fare.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
I found this to be slow and quite disjointed and rambling in parts. A very odd and unsatisfying end that seems a convenience through boredom rather than interesting by design. Nothing like Rankin's best - if this was the first book of his that I'd tried I would probably not try any more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
I’ve really enjoyed all the Rebus series but this Ian Rankin book was a total mess.

It is interesting for the first couple of chapters but then the plot goes astray and veers all over the place. The part set in America is boring and ludicrous and all the gun detail became tedious. The ending is extremely weak – and could have been sorted in chapter 3.

We are supposed to sympathise with an assassin, one who carefully plans everything but in this he just dashes from one ill-considered disaster to another. Given what we’d been told about his history his actions did not make sense. The US detective didn’t work for me either.

This is an early work and one to be avoided.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2003
This is a gratuitously violent, unevenly plotted book with poor character development and an almost maniacal fixation on guns and weapons (make, model, and year).
The novels by the same author that feature Inspector Rebus are great. This is such a disappointment.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse