Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 13 November 2017
I don't know why Pull man is catalogued as a children's author. Yes some of the characters are children but the story is proper adventure. It deals with very adult themes and has brilliant discripshions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2017
A great kids / young teen detective novel set in Victorian times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2017
Arrived on time.
As described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2006
And by "Modern Readers" I mean all those sillys who can't be bothered to try and keep up with old-fashioned prose because they are too desperate to get to the action. Let me assure you from the start that getting to the action will not be a problem in THIS book. On the contrary, the novel opens with a bomb going off in a London suburb.
Becky Winter, hired to teach the "lady of the house" reading, writing and German is not a little surprised that her new employers are a target for anarchists, but she is even more surprised when she finds out that said employer is Crown Prince Rudolf of Razkavia, her native country. Little larger than an English county, it lies between two political giants of late 19th-century Europe: Germany and Austria-Hungary. Both Empires are all too eager to annex Razkavia, for the tin mines there would be very useful in building their armies. And hardly has Becky learned all this than she makes another new acquaintance: Jim Taylor, private detective and current right-hand-man to Prince Rudolf. But Jim's real loyalty lies not with Rudolf but Rudolf's wife: a cockney girl by name of Adelaide, for whom Jim and his best friend Sally Lockhart have been searching for ten years...

Its a good idea to read the first three Sally Lockhart books before you start "Tin Princess": Sally does not play a central role here, but Adelaide and Jim are much more interesting characters if you know about their background. Pullman pits them here against everyone from scheming diplomats to revolutionaries to Bismarck himself (via a pompous chamberlain and a bar brawl or two) - and they are fantastic. So is Pullman's writing: he evokes 19th-century Europe with amazing ease and style, and wonderful comic timing. Adelaide's Cockney English is excellently deployed to get the most laughs out of any situation, no matter how serious, and Jim is always a terrific protagonist (the scene in the cellar captures every aspect of him in three pages, without Pullman once drifting off into long-winded ruminations on his character - simply marvellous). Becky, from whose point of view much of the book is narrated, is also very good. She doesn't have Sally's fire, but then, who does?
It is the extraordinary story of people who are fighting to preserve what they believe in - Razkavia - in the face of overwhelming odds, written with all Pullman's considerable skill and ending with glorious heroism and the sense that the battle may be over, but the war is not. I know most people prefer well-rounded happy-ends, but I love books that - like this one - end with exciting possibilities...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 August 2001
After reading Pullman's "His Dark Materials" trilogy I decided this summer to read Pullman's four books about Sally Lockhart set in Victorian England and I'm glad I did. The books are an excellent read, and Pullman has enough changes in each book to stop them becoming repetitive.
This is the final book of the four. It has Jim as the main character, with most of the other characters from previous books (including Sally) hardly appearing. The setting of the story is also changed from the first three books - it is set in a small country in central Europe. The main characters are the upper classes from this small state, and one of the themes of the story is the relationship between Royalty and the Royal Subjects.
The story is expertly written with never a dull moment and an exciting climax.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2003
Philip Pullman has managed to capture readers imagination through his fantastic works and this book is no exception. It has everything a reader could ever want great characters a gripping plot and delightful twists. After I read The Tiger In The Well I thought Pullman would never be able to top it but i was very wrong because once i started reading The Tin Princess I didn't want to stop. I would recommened reading The Ruby In The Smoke, The Shadow In The North and The Tiger In The Well first as they make up the Sally Lockhart Trilogy (They are all great) The Tin Princess is a spinoff from them so it would do well to check them out as well. Any one who is unsure wether or not to buy this book should buy it as it has something for every reader.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 22 September 2012
This is a review for the audio version of the book read by Anton Lesser.

This is a wonderful book.
The story is simply terrific with a whole host of terrific characters and a fabulous setting of Victorian London.

Other reviewers will comment on the terrific story so I suggest you read them in addition to this..

I will focus on the audio book.
My word it is well performed by Anton Lesser his vocalisation of the characters particularly the females outstanding.
HE had me scrabbling to the Cd's box to check that other additional women actors were not performing he is that good.
No I'm wrong there he is BRILLIANT.

His vocal talents convey the menace and sheer terror of the evil enemies of Sally Lockhart so well.
Mrs Holland, Sally's nemesis is a wonderful creation full of malevolence evil from her use of her deceased husband's Ivory false teeth (plenty of wear in 'em yet) to her total disregard for using violence to extract what she wants- if someone's face needs to smashed in she will insist her crony does it with a knuckle duster to really be sure to smash the face in with as much pain as possible.

The story rattles along and I was totally amazed that this reading over 6 CDs was not abbridged Philip Pullman is a wonderful story teller who writes cracking novels. Each and every word is well crafted to the situation and character.
If this is a book just for children then I am a Dutchman!

So to sum up this reading and performing of the book is simply wonderful. Anton Lesser is outstanding.
What a brilliant vocal narrator he is.

One hundred per cent totally recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 22 September 2012
This is a review for the audio version of the book read by Anton Lesser.

This is a wonderful book.
The story is simply terrific with a whole host of terrific characters and a fabulous setting of Victorian London.

Other reviewers will comment on the terrific story so I suggest you read them in addition to this..

I will focus on the audio book.
My word it is well performed by Anton Lesser his vocalisation of the characters particularly the females outstanding.
HE had me scrabbling to the Cd's box to check that other additional women actors were not performing he is that good.
No I'm wrong there he is BRILLIANT.

His vocal talents convey the menace and sheer terror of the evil enemies of Sally Lockhart so well.
Mrs Holland, Sally's nemesis is a wonderful creation full of malevolence evil from her use of her deceased husband's Ivory false teeth (plenty of wear in 'em yet) to her total disregard for using violence to extract what she wants- if someone's face needs to smashed in she will insist her crony does it with a knuckle duster to really be sure to smash the face in with as much pain as possible.

The story rattles along and I was totally amazed that this reading over 6 CDs was not abbridged Philip Pullman is a wonderful story teller who writes cracking novels. Each and every word is well crafted to the situation and character.
If this is a book just for children then I am a Dutchman!

So to sum up this reading and performing of the book is simply wonderful. Anton Lesser is outstanding.
What a brilliant vocal narrator he is.

One hundred per cent totally recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2002
The characters in this book are brilliant: Becky Winter, aged sixteen, talented, cheerful, poor, and yearning for adventure and romance, Jim Taylor, a consulting detective, vivid, intelligent, friendly, brave. Adelaide Bevan, a young woman, sharp, inquisitive, clever, passionate. Herr Strauss, Prince of Razkavia, naive, gentle, weak-willed,completely in love with Adelaide. There are plenty of other good characters, but these are the main four.
The plot is complex, with lots of exciting twists and turns and plenty of action. Becky Winter takes on more than she bargained for, when she agrees to teach a young lady called Adelaide to speak German, only to find that the girl is engaged to a Prince, who is in great danger. Becky then meets a detective, Jim Taylor, who has been looking for Adelaide for some time. Together, the three are led on a trail of mystery and danger to Razkavia, where the adventure really begins… This book never stops moving, it's so packed with action and mystery, it's impossible to get bored and I really cared about the main characters.
This book is set in Victorian times, so the language the characters use is old-fashioned.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2001
The first thing to note: while this is set in Sally Lockhard's world, and gives a starring role to her friend Jim, it's definitely not a Sally Lockhart book. Her part is limited to a couple of cameos at the beginning and end, and the knitting of a sweater that plays an important role in the story (I have to confess I find it hard to imagine Sally doing such a thing, but perhaps motherhood brings about strange changes... :-)
That said, previous reviewers who complained about Sally's absence are, I think, missing the point. This remains an excellent adventure story, and if all the attention was on Sally, we'd never get to know Jim and his co-adventurers better.
The story itself starts in London, but quickly moves to a small European kingdom called Razkavia. This is reminiscent of nothing so much as Anthony Hope's Ruritania (see his Prisoner of Zenda novels), and indeed the theme of an English commoner caught up in the affairs of minor european Royalty could have come straight from Hope's pen. Add an imprisoned prince, a crucial treaty, threatening foreign empires (Germany and Austria-Hungary), idealistic student-philosophers, a few swords and pistols, and steam-trains rushing through the snowy, forested night... and you have the recipe for an adventure story that will keep you up past bed-time while you read just one more chapter...
In short, ignore the complaints about Sally's absence. This story belongs to her friends, and they carry it off brilliantly.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse